We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location perfect service food and owners response appauling”

The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wheatsheaf at Beetham
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Having a shoddy service where table not laid correctly dry unpalatable chicken which looked deep fryed and then a rude and arrogant response to our polite complaint .
we would never dine or recommend this restuarant to any of our many friends who visit this area .
Apparrently has 2 good awards they will also be contacted with a full and comprehensive account of our visit

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank she2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2008

A very pleasant place to stay. Very friendly staff, good retaurant and acceptable rooms. A nice peacefull location to use as a golfing and touring break in the Southern Lakes area.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolferYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2008

We have always recommended this place but after meeting the new manager never again.

Customer service is not high on the list and the quality of food for the money is silly.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mich31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

We stayed here for one night to break our journey to Scotland. Our room was good by pub standards but nothing outstanding. The staff were very pleasant and the food was good too. I wouldn't choose to stay here for a holiday, but it makes a good overnight stop.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2007

On arriving in Beetham you are immediately struck by the charm and character of the 16th century 'Wheatsheaf', which along with the church it sits beside, is located in the most prominent position of the village.
Recently taken over, within the last 3 weeks, the new owners and their staff are both charming and attentive and offer a level of service I have only ever found before in the very best hotels/Inns and only a few of those.
The food was truly excellent and consistantly so, the breakfast magnificent.
The Wheatsheaf is well situated to explore 'the lakes' and surrounding countryside and a wonderful place to come back to when you have been out and about all day.
All in all a very very memorable stay indeed, so keep up the good work Phil!
Would we return again? we most definately would!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Wakefield
25
Reviewed 5 March 2006

Booked this after seeing it recommended in one of Alistair Sawday's guide books but was rather disappointed in what we got.

We'd upgraded to the Leighton room at £75 p/n rather than a standard at £69.50 but it was difficult to know what we'd got for our extra money. There was no pressure to the hot water so had a feeble shower one morning and gave up and managed a cold wash in the sink the second day.

The food recommendations and the awards it had received were one of the reasons for booking but it was nothing outstanding and overpriced (plus the fact we were overcharged by approx £20) so we chose to eat somewhere else for our second night. Breakfast was nothing to rave about either.

Overall, a disappointing 2 nights. The room was clean but it's facilities weren't up to scratch and the food was nothing special. We stopped at 'The Punch Bowl' in Crosthwaite for drink whilst driving around and I can't wait to go back and stay for a night or two!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Nottingham, England
12
Reviewed 3 September 2004

This Hotel. Country Inn is fantastic. Four AA diamonds, four guide books. Gourmet food and good bar/wines -real ales. Friendly family owned-enthusiatic hands on owners. Candles, fresh flowers, fresh locally sourced produce - didn't want to go home. Stayed three nights enjoying light bar meals to full a la carte romantic dinners. Going back soon - this place deserves recognition.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milnthorpe
0.1 mi away
The Cross Keys Hotel
The Cross Keys Hotel
#2 of 2 in Milnthorpe
124 reviews
2.7 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
548 reviews
7.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bolton le Sands
177 reviews
5.2 mi away
Cumbria Grand Hotel
Cumbria Grand Hotel
#7 of 10 in Grange-over-Sands
1,013 reviews
7.1 mi away
Aynsome Manor Hotel
Aynsome Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cartmel
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wheatsheaf at Beetham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf at Beetham

Address: Beetham, Milnthorpe LA7 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Milnthorpe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Milnthorpe
Price Range: £77 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Wheatsheaf at Beetham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Hotel Milnthorpe
Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe
The Wheatsheaf At Beetham Milnthorpe, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing