We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moresby Hall
Nearby Hotels
Georgian House Hotel(Whitehaven)(Great Value!)
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hall Park Hotel(Workington)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ennerdale Country House Hotel(Cleator)(Great Value!)
US$61
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stork Hotel(Frizington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sleepwell Inn(Workington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Waverley Hotel(Workington)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
170
24
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
170
24
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjane and davidfour poster bedjacuzzi bathlake districtbottle of champagneevening mealwonderful hostson arrivalbirthday treatbusiness tripa great staycomfortable bedsfull englishher husbandlovely placebreakfast was excellentafternoon tea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Having decided to have a weekend away with a friend and show her some of the Lake District, it was a genuine stroke of luck to find the last available room at Moresby Hall. Whilst it was a little further North West than I had in mind, it would now be a first choice for a future excursion to the region.

The building itself is wonderful and very well looked after, whilst Jane and David were friendly, attentive hosts and made us both feel at home straight away. An email received a couple of days before our arrival with some useful information was a nice touch, too. Despite such relatively grand surroundings, there was no air of pretension and the service was first rate all round.

Our particular room was spacious and very clean, with a large en suite bathroom. The bed was the most comfortable that my friend and I can remember sleeping in, both waking up feeling refreshed. Breakfast was excellent and it was nice to talk again with Jane before leaving this particular gem behind, for now, ahead of a long journey home.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDMmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

It was such a busy weekend, with mixed weather all round so thank you for such a lovely review from your short but enjoyable stay. We are complimented continuously on our mattresses, they are made in the UK and so many people want to order the same for at home that we know we have the right brand and specification. Even people who say they don't sleep well generally or have a bad back are often amazed at how well they settle - probably because of the mattress and soft bedlinen and also because we are relatively peaceful here. I hope we can welcome you again if you ever wish to visit the Western Lake District. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Bar one mistake with not giving us our complimentary champagne, our stay was excellent. We had two nights stay on our wedding. Shame that we had to travel to Whitehaven to get dinner on the Sunday evening. It would have been nice to dine there.
Other than that, we had a lovely room, good breakfast.
Definitely recommend it.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank rme_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

It's always a pleasure to welcome our honeymooners, we are conscious that there are many wonderful places to choose from so it means a lot to us to know you were so happy. Regrettably we don't provide dinner on Sundays as with breakfasts 7 days a week and dinner for 6 nights we tend to take it as our one night off. The complimentary champagne is one of our current offers for booking 2 nights directly with us on our website so its nice to enjoy - ideally in our gorgeous garden which is looking good now and bursting into life. Congratulations on your marriage and we wish you love and happiness always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a lovely long weekend at Moresby Hall. Jane and David were just as helpful and friendly as all previous reviewers have said. If sleek lines and contemporary furniture are your thing then this may not be the place for you, but if you want to stay in a little piece of history then this is definitely the place. We had dinner on the Saturday night and it was delicious - the only complaint was heaving ourselves up the beautiful staircase afterwards! We would not hesitate to recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 557EM2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

We are delighted you were so comfortable and enjoyed your stay and dining with us. As the weather is getting warmer and guests turn their thoughts to booking it was good to know that your stay was worth the long drive and that you enjoyed the Western Lake District so much. x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My better half took me here for my 40th birthday recently and it was fantastic. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. Not your average hotel or BB style place, it felt more like sharing their home with them. The food at meal times was superb, plenty of choice from the menu that you book prior to arrival.
The room was fantastic and very decorative and kept with the old style furniture & fittings that the building deserves. A giant 4 poster bed (7 foot wide) was a superb addition which I now have to try work out a way to get one into my own home!!

Many thanks for making it a superb birthday weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigfella53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

It was lovely to welcome guests from The Fylde Coast where David and I lived before buying and renovating Moresby Hall. We are delighted that everything was so perfect for you stay and that you enjoyed the dinner so much. As we only have a small kitchen and there are just a couple of us preparing meals we like to do so from scratch using best quality local produce, hence the need to book and then pre order in advance. It ensures we offer the best service at reasonable prices and virtually no waste. I hope we will see you again one day in the future. Best wishes - Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed here with a colleague on a business trip and it was pretty much a last minute booking because we couldn't get in the Georgian House Hotel, I have to say this was a much better choice. I had a four poster bed, which was amazing to sleep in, the room was very spacious and had all the amenities that you require (iron, hairdryer, tea/coffee/biscuits and tv) Hosts excellent, very helpful and really made you feel welcome. Breakfast great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoresbyHall, Owner at Moresby Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review - I realise you generally stay elsewhere when in the area on business so I am delighted that you were so comfortable and may consider visiting again in the future. Its handy to have a couple of establishments to check out during busy weekday periods so I am very glad you were able to visit on this occasion. Best wishes - Jane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews