We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay in stylish hostel”
Review of YHA Wasdale Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA Wasdale Hall
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Beautiful location, very nice old-styled building, friendly stuff, clean rooms... and classic english atmosphere everywhere. Great initial point for walks on nice surrounding hills and nature. The only con is too small shower room (actually I think shape of my head can be still recognizable on its roof), but when I take in mind excellent price and services, it is not important.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JardaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

Location, location, location......that is what this hostel is all about. A beautiful half timbered building on the shores of England's deepest lake with the Wasdale screes as a view to savour over a pint of Jennings. It's a YHA so the dorms are basic but clean and comfortable amd the breakfasts are standard but filling. When I visited it rained and blew, blew and rained and then rained a little more making the drying room (with resident toad), hot showers and library (ideal spot for a beer) all the more necessary. Bob is a top bloke, helpful, friendly and interested and I will definitely be back.....

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howellsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

amazing hostel. Amazing location. Staff welcoming. Breakfast brill. Only critisism is cleanliness of toilets andshowers...they need a good scrub and to be checked regularly. When i rang yha hotline they said it had shut down so may be staff training would help!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Just stayed as part of a large group walking, open water swimming and cycling and were made very welcome. It was wet ( well it is near England`s wettest place ) but the drying room was excellent. Good breakfast, evening meal and the bar was just what you needed at the end of an active day. No great luxury but all you need if you are an outdoors person. Staff were great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

A group of us spent two nights in Wasdale swimming and walking. The Hostel is right on the lake side making swimming easy to access. The great drying room was a real bonus.
Food good as was the beer, and the staff were simply superb! This is a fantastic Hostel in a really beautiful place.

Room Tip: Family rooms are available.
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank HullTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just back from a lovely break at Wastwater. The staff were amazingly helpful and couldn't have done more to make it a nice stay for us. I'm vegan and thought that there wouldn't be much they could provide for me but, as it turned out, I had the best choice of food I think I've ever had on a holiday. The staff rang me a few days before our holiday and offered a list of things to choose from. They also went to the trouble of providing soya milk and vegan custard and made us some really good packed lunches. We were given good tips on walks around Wastwater. The location is amazing! Also, lovely pubs about 20 mins walk away (take a torch if you're going to be out for last orders!). Will definitely be going again. Can't wait. The best service I've ever had in over 30 years of youth hostelling.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank williamsmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012 via mobile

I feel priveleged to have stayed at the Wastwater YHA for a couple of nights.

The room was massive with a stunning view over the lake and scree slopes.

The youngsters running the place couldn't have been more helpful and the level of service we received was worthy of a much grander brand.

The place was easy to find, plenty of parking, games room, effective drying room, lovely beer and possibly the world's best sticky toffee pudding

Downside - the shower badly needed refurbishment but hey everything was so good.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiberius_nero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
9.1 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
228 reviews
11.3 mi away
Elterwater Hostel
Elterwater Hostel
#1 of 1 in Elterwater
184 reviews
12.3 mi away
Derwentwater Independent Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
67 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
1.4 mi away
Low Wood Hall Hotel
Low Wood Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wasdale Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wasdale Hall

Address: Wasdale Hall Wasdale Hall, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England (Formerly YHA Wastwater)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Nether Wasdale
Price Range: £36 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Wasdale Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Wasdale Hall (formerly known as YHA Wastwater) is a stunning half-timbered National Trust-owned house dating from 1829 and still retains many original features. Enjoy beautiful scenery from the grounds, which extend to the shores of Lake Wastwater, England's deepest lake. Within easy reach of England's highest mountain, walkers will be busy here. After a hectic day enjoy a delicious meal in our wood paneled restaurant with stunning views of the lake. All meals are home-cooked using fresh produce in the Wasdale Hall kitchens and served to your table. A range of local Cumbrian ales, fine wines, spirits and soft drinks are also available to accompany your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Wasdale Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Wasdale Hall Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing