We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Climb a mountin for your 50th”
Review of YHA Wasdale Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA Wasdale Hall
Reviewed 8 May 2013

This hostel was Fantastic me and 9 friends stayed 2 night and I would definitely go back. The manager and staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was great for a reasonable price. Also it has a great lounge area and the views are breathtaking. So I would like to say thank you for making my birthday weekend unforgettable.

Regard

Mark

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

Definitely a hostel I'd come back to. The location on the lake is magnificent and hostel just looks amazing.

We were made to feel welcome from the start and the staff were very kind, helpful and generous. We only stayed the Friday night before heading off to wild-camp below Great Cable and Scafell Pike, however, we were welcomed back on Sunday afternoon and the staff had allowed us to use the showers and facilities even though we weren't staying the Sunday night. It was really great to freshen up before heading south and for that my friend and I are really grateful.

I don't think a one night stop over really does this hostel justice, so I definitely plan to come back and spent more time in the area. My thanks to Ged and the other members of the team at the hostel for being so accommodating.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We spent two nights last weekend with our walking group (22 of us) at this hostel. The hosts were very friendly and helpful, they also seemed to be enjoying their work. We must also make a mention of Geoff the dog a very entertaining addition to the hostel staff!

The food was wholesome and well cooked. We had both evening meals and breakfasts at the hostel and enjoyed all the meals.

They have a very comfortable library/lounge and a games room in the basement. There is also good parking at this hostel.

Its in an excellent location on the shores of Wastwater and handy to some of the Lake District's best walking. We were very fortunate as we had dry and clear conditions on all three days.

It looks like the YHA or National Trust have spent some money on the building which is good news.

The dorms were all very comfortable and everyone in our group enjoyed the weekend.

A great place to stay especially if you are a walker.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Excellent food from a really helpful staff with friendly attitude.Plenty of space in bedroom. Superb base to explore one of the best areas in the Lakes. Good to see improvements that have been made to a magnificent building that was deteriorating at one time. I could not fault it in any way.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesP257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013 via mobile

Haven't stayed in a YHA for many years, but this is a lovely hostel: great location, comfortable, homely and very clean. A big thank you to the team for exceptional service under trying conditions. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LR_9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

This YHA is indeed a very beautiful location and a nice place to stay just in front of the Wast Water. The place is divine in the early morning I spent here. the beautiful lake and the hills opposite was drenched in a magical blue shade, with the snow covered Scafell peak is just behind. There are a few rooms from where just open your eyes in the morning to see the snow cladded mountain.
This is not a luxury starred hotel, but definitely a starred hostel. Clean and very well maintained. The drawing room with the huge fireplace and the books around takes you to Victorian feelings. The staffs are very helpful and we were guided very well for the next day planning.
Really an affordable stay with affordable food option, ample of parking, kitchen for self cooking option. Only a few note of caution, somehow this YHA location was not featured in the GPS. So was a bit difficulty to find the route. Also as per the GPS, the hotel is guided through hardknott pass when travelling from Wndermere. This road is avoidable in the winter as well as in other time too as its one of the stiffest pass and my vehicle gave up badly. So take the route only when you are comfortable with your car

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmsrc_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights, 5th and 6th March 2013. Had a great stay in this beautiful remote valley. I arrived around 5:30 pm after an excellent day up Great Gable and Kirk Fell. The weather was surprisingly clear and sunny! Check in was quick, evening meal, breakfast and packed lunch for the following day ordered. The staff were friendly, helpful and chatty, asking how my day had gone and where I had been. Showered and fed and as there was no t.v. and a football game I fancied watching on that night. I asked and the girl on reception and she phoned a local pub to ask if they were showing it. Result! I got directions and was on my way! Second day I was off up Scafell Pike and as I was walking alone, they asked what time I would be back. Great customer service as if I hadn't been back it could have been a call to the Mountain Rescue. All right it's a youth hostel and shared rooms, so you know what you're getting. But all in all clean with hot water and decent food together with great customer service. I would definately stop here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
9.1 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
232 reviews
11.8 mi away
YHA Grasmere Butharlyp Howe
1.3 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Low Wood Hall Hotel
Low Wood Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
125 reviews
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wasdale Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wasdale Hall

Address: Wasdale Hall Wasdale Hall, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England (Formerly YHA Wastwater)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Nether Wasdale
Price Range: £27 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Wasdale Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Wasdale Hall (formerly known as YHA Wastwater) is a stunning half-timbered National Trust-owned house dating from 1829 and still retains many original features. Enjoy beautiful scenery from the grounds, which extend to the shores of Lake Wastwater, England's deepest lake. Within easy reach of England's highest mountain, walkers will be busy here. After a hectic day enjoy a delicious meal in our wood paneled restaurant with stunning views of the lake. All meals are home-cooked using fresh produce in the Wasdale Hall kitchens and served to your table. A range of local Cumbrian ales, fine wines, spirits and soft drinks are also available to accompany your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your YHA Wasdale Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Wasdale Hall Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing