We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location!”
Review of YHA Wasdale Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
YHA Wasdale Hall
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful location!”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We spent a night here and enjoyed it very much. We loved the setting. Our family room had a nice view of the lake. Staff was friendly. Kitchen was well equipped. This was our first hostel experience and it converted us to give a consideration to hostels first when traveling.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wastwatermanager, Manager at YHA Wasdale Hall, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Hi, Many thanks for choosing to stay at Wasdale Hall whilst in the Lake District and also for taking the time to leave a review. I take pride in the friendliness of our staff here, it's one of the reasons why YHA is a good place to stay anywhere in the country. The hostel is blessed with it's location, overlooking the lake and also superb views along 'Britain's Favourit View' in possibly one of the most dramatic valleys in the country. We are constantly reviewing the equipment in our self catering kitchen, hopefully making it a home from home for guests staying here; hopefully however next time you come to stay you will sample our home cooked food...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    24
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
14
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have used the Wastwater YHA now 3 times inside a calender year and each time it gets better. The shower rooms have have upgraded & layout changed a little, all for tghe positive. The staffs are superb! Friendly, helpful and a weath of information. The location is stunning and although a mile walk to the nearest pub seems daunting at first, the quality is well worth it.

Room Tip: Upper floor overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wastwatermanager, Manager at YHA Wasdale Hall, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi, Thanks for your review and more importantly thanks for coming back to stay with us again. We are very proud of the hostel and it's offering, and of course naturally delighted to hear that you approve of the recent changes to the accommodation. The smaller family rooms which have double beds rose out of the remains of a 14 bedded dorm room, as did 2 new showers. A great addition we think to the hostel. Looking forward to seeing you again hopefully in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Simply stunning!

Beautiful views of the lake - no picture can depict the eerie atmosphere with screes raising high above you on teh otehr side of the lake. One of the days we were there there was no wind, and all the lake was a mirror reflecting mountains on its mirror like surface. Awesome!!
Staff very friendly and helpful, food great - not a gourmet style food, but good quality proper meals at a very reasonable price. Rooms clean and functional. I would deffinitely love to go back there. Stunning. Simply stunning!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klaudiagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights in September.

Friendly welcome.

Good value meals and drinks from the well stocked bar. Breakfast also tasty and decent value.

Shared dorm clean and functional. Everything worked OK.

Showers and toilets always clean. My only gripe is that there are too few showers.

Kitchen and dining area clean with plenty of crockery etc all in good condition.

Great setting right on the lake. Wish I'd brought a canoe to go exploring.



Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kommensiecake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Visited April 2012 with family of 4. Great scenery & walking in all directions. Very helpful staff & good food (portions maybe a bit too healthily small for growing boys!). If you didn't want to go far the fantastic house, lakeside setting & walks along the shore would make for an enjoyable day in itself. Just a short drive to the foot of Great Gable, Kirk Fell & Scafell. A 'must visit' for anyone who loves the remote Western Lake District and easily one of the best YHAs we have used.

Room Tip: Upstairs front overlooks the Lake. Sleeping in the table tennis room might be a little too cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalter, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Really can't think of anything negative about this hostel at all!

SLEEP
we stayed two nights in a dorm. It was very busy, but still very comfortable and nice. I slept in a dorms with 13 other women, my boyfriend and a friend slept in a dorm nextdoor with 14 other men. The showers were not always very clean, but that doesn't botter me. I can imagine it is very hard to keep it clean if 14 women have to shower in two hours..

LAKE
when we woke up we saw the lake from our dorm. I jumped in my swimming suit and ran outside to try the water. Our mascotte (duckie) and we went for a swim, but it was very cold. And if they say, it is very deep! We tried to swim across the lake, but didn't succeed. Duckie was afraid..

NEARBY
as we went with our motorcycles, we tried to discover the beautiful area. It is very hard, but oh so nice! The Hardknott Pass, the winnlatter pass, the honister pass,... All very beautiful, it almost makes you cry. The sheep were wondering what we were doing there, the water kept flowed down the hills...

CONCLUSSION
Really can't think of anything negative about this hostel at all!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissCupcake7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

For people who haven't youth hostelled - like my kids ("we have to SHARE a shower!") it is not exactly the same as a hotel - there is interaction with other guests if you want it, in a friendly atmosphere. But for people with kids, it is fantastic to arrive here, let the kids run down to the shallows of the splendid vista of Wastwater, an unspoilt lake in a hard-to-get to (and so not ruined) section of the Lake District while you sit in the sun with a well-earned pint. Our two eldest boys (13, 11) soon hit it off with another pair and they were all playing badminton until the sun finally set. Then they discovered the cavernous underground games room with free table tennis which they played for three days as often as they could.

I have to say that although we meant to self-cater and the self-catering kitchen is good and well-provided, I was tempted by the menu. Here I didn't have the soup, but the vegetarian options were good with an excellent veggie lasagne, and the staff helpful in finding a child's size from the vegetarian menu. Pudding was excellent and sizes for the child's portion huge. My under-10 child ate free so in all 1 adult 3 kids ate main and dessert for £25. You can't complain too much if the gravy tasted like Bisto when the potatoes were really mashed, and the jam roly poly pudding was superb.
We had a family room of four bunks with a view over the lake. The house was built in 1829 and the landowner re-routed the road to behind the house so he could see directly down to the lake. The dining room and communal lounge with board games and the fireplace (weirdly) from York Minster with dark library pannelling give it such a fantastic atmosphere inside that it is worth the 3 mile walk to Wasdale Head if you are on foot, which adds to your trek up Scafell Pike although the walk is all lake side and beautiful. There is a stork which lives at the lakeside. It is worth the oddness of sleeping in a room with same-gender strangers if you are not in a family room.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nizLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
1.3 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
8.0 mi away
YHA Buttermere
YHA Buttermere
#1 of 1 in Buttermere
109 reviews
9.2 mi away
YHA Borrowdale
YHA Borrowdale
#1 of 4 in Borrowdale
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
YHA Eskdale
YHA Eskdale
#2 of 2 in Boot
54 reviews
14.1 mi away
YHA Keswick
YHA Keswick
#3 of 33 in Keswick
168 reviews
12.1 mi away
YHA Langdale
YHA Langdale
#1 of 1 in Loughrigg
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Wasdale Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Wasdale Hall

Property: YHA Wasdale Hall
Address: Wasdale Hall Wasdale Hall, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England (Formerly YHA Wastwater)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Nether Wasdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Wasdale Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YHA Wasdale Hall (formerly known as YHA Wastwater) is a stunning half-timbered National Trust-owned house dating from 1829 and still retains many original features. Enjoy beautiful scenery from the grounds, which extend to the shores of Lake Wastwater, England's deepest lake. Within easy reach of England's highest mountain, walkers will be busy here. After a hectic day enjoy a delicious meal in our wood paneled restaurant with stunning views of the lake. All meals are home-cooked using fresh produce in the Wasdale Hall kitchens and served to your table. A range of local Cumbrian ales, fine wines, spirits and soft drinks are also available to accompany your meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your YHA Wasdale Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Wasdale Hall Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing