We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just so AWFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Low Wood Hall Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just so AWFUL”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

As mentioned before the ONE iron in the place cannot be borrowed - it would have been good to know that before arrival for our business meeting.
In the bathroom the towel rail, the mirror light and the toilet roll holder were ALL broken and don’t expect any shampoo/soap as you’ll receive none.
The room is very mediocre and the bed hadn't even been made properly.
PLEASE NOTE: the rooms in the new (?) wing are nothing like those shown in the professional advertising photos.
A real let-down after driving so far into the wilds to find it.

P.S. my colleague who booked this for us said the hotel was fine but to avoid the food - I can only imagine how bad that must be.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank foodlover342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    35
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
12
51
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

if you want below average rooms and poor food combined with really poor customer service you must stay here. The staff really can't do enough for you... no they really can't as they are too busy making up some new rules that you are expected to know by some sort of pyschic osmosis.

Here's one - you can't use 'the' iron (there is only one in the entire place) as we charge to iron stuff. But we're too busy so you can't have anything ironed!

Give this place a really wide birth. The Screes Pub and Wasdale Head Inn both gave us a warm welcome and their food was excellent, unlike Low Wood Hall where they scrimped on portion sizes and made you feel guilty for ordering 'extra' bacon. That is to say that one rasher was not enough and so i asked for another one the next day at breakfast, with no egg or black pudding as I'm not from Blackburn. Surely even McDonald's don't struggle with that?

I would rather camp out in Manchester city centre. In incelment weather. During riots. With a sign on my back saying 'I support Liverpool FC, please kick me back to my scouse home'. And i hate camping.

Avoid.

Room Tip: avoid rooms in the hotel. rooms at nearby places would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stevew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerSeascale, Manager at Low Wood Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
WE BELIEVE THIS TO BE A BOGUS REPORT - we have no record of any of this and as you can see from our previous reviews our staff are a huge asset to us and their helpfulness and friendliness is always commented on in such a positive way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed here in order to knock off a few of the Western Fells and wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in a perfect location for the Western Fells with only a 10 minute drive to the parking at Yewbarrow. Theres also 2 pubs in the village less than a minutes walk. I stayed in one of the rooms in the lodge at the side and although the room was basic it had everything one needs for a walking holiday. The food in the hotel was excellent, the staff were very helpful in fact I had to leave a day early as I injured my foot on the 2nd days walking and the owner by rights could have charged me a full nights accommodation but they didn't just charging me for room cleaning which was very much appreciated. One thing was great about the hotel was the free wireless it was the best I have ever received in the Lakes a full 5 bars all over the hotel Why others can't manage this in this day and age god only knows !!! There is virtually no mobile signal here I notice another reviewer actually gives the hotel bad marks for no mobile reception as though the hotel has any power over that, maybe they expect the owner to build a transmitter in the gardens !!! My only slight gripe was the main door to the lodge could do with a door closer on it so it doesn't slam shut as it makes quite a bang when it does but other than than great hotel and I will be back later in the year and won't hesitate to use the hotel again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-Stocksbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Tyneside
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

This is a beautiful building with lots of original features and has a beautiful garden, all of which are well looked after. Its very clean and we thought that the food was better than eating anywhere else nearby. The restaurant has fab views of the village, fells and forests and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our only negative opinion is that the furnishings / decor in the dining room, bar and lounge area are dated and don;t blend with the beauty of this building but we are glad to say that overall we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel which has views of the village and fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lakes tarns n f... m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights as a base for walking. The staff were very friendly and welcoming but there was little continuity or sense of professionalism. The room was clean, light and airy. The bed was comfortable but the decor was mismatched, the tv small with only BBC channels and there were a few minor irritations but the view was so fabulous that these were all forgiven. Breakfast was adequate but the evening meal was poor, the 'gourmet burger' was shop bought and frozen and we ate out the second night. The other guests appeared to be mainly businessmen.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchdaleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Stayed 1 night in a single. No soap or curtains in bathroom. No curtains in bedroom. Very bad light in room as lampshade in the centre of the room and no mobile reception.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We only stayed for one night but low wood hall was a lovely hotel, clean and comfortable. The area is peaceful and a really get away. Would have stayed longer but we are on the 3 peaks challenge. The staff was kind and we would rebook

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
18.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
19.6 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
16.6 mi away
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
Holbeck Ghyll Country House
#13 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
18.1 mi away
Windermere Boutique Hotel
Windermere Boutique Hotel
#10 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Hall Hotel

Property: Low Wood Hall Hotel
Address: Nether Wasdale, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Wasdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Low Wood Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Low Wood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Hall Hotel Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing