We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Low Wood Hall Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed here for a few days recently with collegaues and this is a nice hotel. The location is impressive and while remote has the added attraction of a couple of very pleasant pubs just a short walk away. The accommodation is clean and well presented and the staff are helpful and friendly. There is free WiFi which was reasonably reliable and good tourist information.

There are a couple of areas where they could improve and if they did it would lift the hotel considerably.

My accommodation was in the annexe with low windows facing the road and overlooked by the mani building. That's OK but there are no net curtains on windows which is a privacy issue and slightly problematic given it was hot and I wanted to leave windows and curtains open. The second observation concerns the restaurant. It has a great view and the portions are generous but I felt it was let down by the limited menu and below par ingredients in the dishes I ate. I observed the breakfast black pudding seemed to be at the lower end of the quality scale and the paella (top priced meal on the menu) was probably not made from genuine chorizo (no indication of the tell tale paprika or smokey flavour and no mussels etc, just frozen shrimps. Given that when it comes to food, they compete with two good pub restaurants and our party all would have preferred to eat in the hotel but instead wnet to the pub this is an important point. All that said don't be put off. Its a lovely hotel and I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 118esj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed for one night before walking Scafell, and so the hotel was perfect in that it was clean and comfortable. It is in a gorgeous setting, the room was lovely, bed very comfy and nice bathroom with a huge bath (although the shower was not great). The room also had very basic tea and coffee making facilities and limited toiletries. Staff were generally very friendly but not very helpful at times. Breakfast was fine, but again overpriced for the portion and quality. I enjoyed the stay, however I do no think it was good value for money and would not recommend to friends based on that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lozz103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for the last two nights of our second honeymoon and could not have chosen better. The location is fabulous and the room, which was comfortable and clean, had a wonderful view. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. They made every effort to ensure that our stay was as enjoyable as possible and they all made a special effort to accommodate my difficult dietary needs, especially the chef, who went out of his way to adapt the food on the menu and to make me an individual dessert. The gardens were beautifully kept and a lovely place to sit and admire the surroundings and the wildlife, including buzzards and bats. We will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We had a superior double at the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizR-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We Stayed 2 nights in Low Wood,
Premises are run down for the money. Brakfast very basic nothing to choose from.
Great location though and close to the trails, however even though not commercial there was nothing around excepts for the 2 pubs.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed for two nights, in the Lodge (external to the hotel). The room was very clean, airey and comfortable bed. There were afew cracked tiles in the bathroom which need to be dealt with.
Stocked tea and coffee which was great, but wasn't replenised for the second night which was a shame. I would have expected the front door to have a lock.

Breakfast was hot but quite small portions but to be fair, they may have provided more if I had asked. Full English was cooked to order but 1 piece of bacon and 1 sausage is small!. They did do veggie sausages so cater for vegetarians. Would have been nice to have had fruit and yoghurts.

Lovely to sit outside the room and play games, which the hotel provided.

It is the most beautiful location and building, and I am sure if these were addressed then the hotel would be full all of the time.

Walk down the hill (2mins away ) to Strand and Screes Inn. Both serve fantastic food in the most idyllic location, with backdrop of Skiddaw and hills. You may need to book on a weekend as they get busy with locals and visitors.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Set in the beautiful Lake District the Hotel was the ideal place to stay. The views from our room were stunning. We found the facilities first class with the food just what you needed to set you up for a day in the hills. Well worth the travel and look forward to re-visiting soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The hotel is nicely located for walking in the Wasdale area. The room (we had one in the main hotel) was nice and warm, as was the shower, ideal after a damp day on the fells. The breakfast was nice and set you up for the day.
If you are looking for high end luxury, this would not be your first choice. If, however you want a comfortable base for exploring the hills of the Western Lakes, you will do a lot worse

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicwardle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
0.2 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
1.8 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
393 reviews
1.4 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Hall Hotel

Address: Nether Wasdale, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Wasdale
Price Range: £78 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Low Wood Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Low Wood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Hall Hotel Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing