We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent All-rounder”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Low Wood Hall Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
uk
1 review
“Excellent All-rounder”
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Stayed for 4 very comfortable nights. Hotel was warm,welcoming & clean. Food was really excellent and represented great value for money. Log fires in two rooms added a lot to the already characterful hotel.Staff friendly and service was good.Great place to get away from it all and relax.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travels54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    36
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
13
53
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Croyde Bay
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Homely Luxury in an Awesome Part of the World

We stayed just one night in the four poster room, but were there for our friends wedding the day before. This is an awesome hotel and the staff feel just like friends and family straight away. It is warm and welcoming and the rooms are wonderful and kept to a high standard.

Not sure what the very late negative report is about, but it sounds a bit bogus. This is a great place to stay and reasonably priced for what you get.

We would highly recommend this hotel to the more discerning guest.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaggyLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The room was dirty and dreary with cobwebs. The hotel was full of people working at scellafield so not a holiday atmosphere. We were kept awake with drunken singing from the next room. When we complained, the manager said "I know I charged them double". He didn't offer to take anything off our bill though. The food wasn't impressive and we had to put up with the radio blaring through speakers over breakfast. I can't believe this is scored as high as it is on this site, will definitely judge places by the number of low scores in future rather than possibly fake high scores. On the plus side the Screes pub down the road was fabulous. Try and get a room there if you can and give this place a miss.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daisycat300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Situated in Nether Wasdale, the Low Wood is a fabulous family hotel, owned by Chris and Karin. The location is stunning and views from the dining room are particularly breath-taking. The standard of food is exceptional and the service has just the right balance of efficiency and friendly banter. The manageress, Emma, judged the needs of guests well, and ensured that our stay was the usual high standard we have come to expect from Chris and Karin. Each time we go, there are further improvements - this is a hotel that just gets better and better and puts its guests securely at the heart of everything. We initially 'found' the hotel via the net some years ago, and have returned again and again. It's a great place and provides an accessible base for Wast Water.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldwooders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellingborough
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Really enjoyed our stay, the location was great, the hotel was faultless and the staff were very friendly, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2010

For the last three years it has fallen to me to arrange the hotel and meals for a casual Cricket teams visit to Eskdale. The Low Wood Hotels management and staff had made this easy. We are all warmly welcomed and provided excellent service over our weekend stays - nothing seems too much trouble. The location is beautiful, rooms lovely, food faboulous and the service is with a smile.

Thanks from the team and supporters.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjnoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights whilst on a walking trip. We decided to treat ourselves and booked the four poster/jacuzzi room for the 3 nights. Overall we were very dissapointed. The room was ok but nothing special, not worth the £120 per night price tag although the jacuzzi was very welcome after a hard days walking.

On arrival I noticed the sheets were stained. I asked for them to be changed and they came up immediately with fresh sheets, but then said it was just stains from the iron. The sheets were changed anyway. The outer bed cover was filthy and so were the cushions, they obviously don't wash them after each guest, which is fine for the cushions but not for bedding in my opinion. I just folded it up and left it under the bed.

There was only a tiny hanging space for clothes with just two coathangers, so I had to go and ask for extra ones. I was given a load of cheap plastic hangers from various high street clothes shops, all covered in dust, but they did the job.

One of the receptionists was really sarcastic all the time and seemed to enjoy making life difficult, she was really quite rude to another couple at breakfast, but luckily she only worked one of the days and then we didn't see her again. The girl that took over was much nicer and far more friendly.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but there are two nice pubs within a minute or two (walking) from the hotel.

The location was perfect for us, but I wouldn't choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MowgliKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
0.2 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
18.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
19.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,708 reviews
12.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,046 reviews
3.5 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Hall Hotel

Property: Low Wood Hall Hotel
Address: Nether Wasdale, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Wasdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Low Wood Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Low Wood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Hall Hotel Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing