We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, friendly, efficient, welcoming hotel in stunning location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Low Wood Hall Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We booked the hotel for our daughter's wedding reception and took over all of the rooms for two nights. From our first planning visit we were impressed with the friendly and attentive service. Staff listened carefully to our ideas and went out of their way to make the event exactly what we had all hoped for. Excellent local food, cosy setting, staff quietly attentive and extremely friendly. We felt that, instead of dealing with some commercial enterprise, that we were among friends who really wanted to look after us. Excellent !!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabrieloak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2010

Stayed here for the first week of our honeymoon. Location is excellent for the views and for walking (we mostly looked at the views!). Food excellent and staff very attentive, we couldn't have been better looked after. Half board rate was very reasonable, especially considering the quality of the food; there are other good pubs down the road but we rarely ate outside the hotel.

Log fires were welcome in the autumn weather. The bar is small but well stocked. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollymcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Stayed for 4 very comfortable nights. Hotel was warm,welcoming & clean. Food was really excellent and represented great value for money. Log fires in two rooms added a lot to the already characterful hotel.Staff friendly and service was good.Great place to get away from it all and relax.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travels54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Homely Luxury in an Awesome Part of the World

We stayed just one night in the four poster room, but were there for our friends wedding the day before. This is an awesome hotel and the staff feel just like friends and family straight away. It is warm and welcoming and the rooms are wonderful and kept to a high standard.

Not sure what the very late negative report is about, but it sounds a bit bogus. This is a great place to stay and reasonably priced for what you get.

We would highly recommend this hotel to the more discerning guest.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaggyLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The room was dirty and dreary with cobwebs. The hotel was full of people working at scellafield so not a holiday atmosphere. We were kept awake with drunken singing from the next room. When we complained, the manager said "I know I charged them double". He didn't offer to take anything off our bill though. The food wasn't impressive and we had to put up with the radio blaring through speakers over breakfast. I can't believe this is scored as high as it is on this site, will definitely judge places by the number of low scores in future rather than possibly fake high scores. On the plus side the Screes pub down the road was fabulous. Try and get a room there if you can and give this place a miss.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daisycat300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Situated in Nether Wasdale, the Low Wood is a fabulous family hotel, owned by Chris and Karin. The location is stunning and views from the dining room are particularly breath-taking. The standard of food is exceptional and the service has just the right balance of efficiency and friendly banter. The manageress, Emma, judged the needs of guests well, and ensured that our stay was the usual high standard we have come to expect from Chris and Karin. Each time we go, there are further improvements - this is a hotel that just gets better and better and puts its guests securely at the heart of everything. We initially 'found' the hotel via the net some years ago, and have returned again and again. It's a great place and provides an accessible base for Wast Water.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldwooders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Really enjoyed our stay, the location was great, the hotel was faultless and the staff were very friendly, I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigMas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
0.2 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
16.4 mi away
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
Low Wood Bay Resort & Spa
#12 of 20 in Windermere
1,770 reviews
12.7 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
20.4 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
546 reviews
18.3 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Wood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Wood Hall Hotel

Address: Nether Wasdale, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Wasdale
Price Range: £84 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Low Wood Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Low Wood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Low Wood Hall Hotel Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing