We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, warm welcome, just perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Wasdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strands Inn & Brewery
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, warm welcome, just perfect”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a two night stay at The Strands. Cannot fault it in any way. The staff could not be more helpful. Food, drink and accommodation were excellent value for money.

Breakfast was fantastic, they made sandwiches for our walk and really looked after us. Food portions were enormous and just what was needed after a tough fell walk.

The beer was great, sampled them all!

Pay this place a visit if you get the opportunity, it's great.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    23
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
53
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

It was a last minute search on Booking.com that found us the Strands Inn. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were returning customers rather than first time visitors. The room was lovely and quiet; comfy bed with everything we needed. Then it was straight to sample the beers from the microbrewery on site; then onto food..pork chop was lovely piece of meat, and fish pie yummy. Set in a tiny village; we had a nice walk down to Waswater the following morning which was a slow stroll for an hour after amazing huge breakfast. We will be back; as the staff team really made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McrTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Lesley & Mark are wonderful hosts, the staff are great as are the locals and tourists. It's a fabulous friendly, homely place to unwind and stay with all the comforts, also pet friendly with dogs curled up under there's owners chair in the pub of an evening.
The chicken curry, steak & ale pie, daily roast, every meal has been perfect. The atmosphere and spirits are high.
I stayed 3 nights and highly recommend Strands Inn as the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazzamooney54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Booked in as it was the closest place to Scafell....the inn is awesome, the owners are great, the food makes you want to sit in the bar all night and the open fire with dogs curled up in front of it makes it feel like heaven in a lost time and place. I can not say a bad thing about the place and would love to keep it a secret but good things are made to be shared.
Book in, bring your walking boots and never want to leave.....

Room Tip: En suite with a big bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wet-dog-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Many thanks to Leslie and her husband for being so amenable and flexible with us last weekend. 9 of us stayed over the weekend to carry out our sponsored walk up Scafell Pike, spirits were high at times and we could be a bit rowdy (in a good way). They could not do enough for us, making sure we were comfortable and giving us good banter.The pub has a great atmosphere and a good beer selection from the micro brewery.The food is excellent, great breakfasts but also the food in the evening was above our expectations for "pub food" e.g. the seafood risotto and lamb platter were to die for. Also when they say authentic curry, that is exactly what it was, delicious!
I should not really be writing this review as I will be should be keeping this little gem a secret so I can ensure to get a room next time we plan a trip up to the Wasdale area!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yompers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Proprietors Mark and Lesley Corr, and manager Jo, appear to be just plain, kind and decent people. Sure, they've got a business to run and they do what they have to. But from the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome, and they listen. This visit was a group booking of 24, pretty much taking over the hotel for 4 nights. Food was excellent, the wine list decent enough, and the micro brewery provides a fine range of beers. My own room was clean and comfortable, with ample hot water, and I consider the place good value. We did have to wait a while for our dinner, but that's perhaps not surprising as we were a group of 24 wanting to dine together, and they apologised profusely as they were a chef down due to an unexpected departure. I will return for sure. Listem out for Mark playing the Godfather theme tune n his squeez box (accordion), and look out for Jo's tattoo !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I was looking for a base to explore the Wasdale area in Cumbria and came across this hotel. The location is spectacular being only a few miles from Wasdale Head. The atmosphere in the hotel is very warm and friendly, think an Olde Worlde pub. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and tidy. The food is good with a super cooked breakfast which is the perfect start to a day on the hills and the selection of real ales a bonus. I can recommend this hotel to any hikers looking for a base in this area of Cumbria.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 9. It is directly above the bar and very noisy. One night I'd been up Sca Fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChesterClaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
0.0 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
3.7 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
143 reviews
3.3 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Low Wood Hall Hotel
Low Wood Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
103 reviews
1.3 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strands Inn & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strands Inn & Brewery

Property: Strands Inn & Brewery
Address: Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Wasdale
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strands Inn & Brewery Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing