We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Wasdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strands Inn & Brewery
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

been here on numerous occasions, food always freshly cooked and the beer is always perfect.
the owners are very nice friendly people.
the outside garden area is very pleasant in the warmer month as well.
it is very close to the beautiful wasttwater....
well worth a visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_p00ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    23
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
51
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a two night stay at The Strands. Cannot fault it in any way. The staff could not be more helpful. Food, drink and accommodation were excellent value for money.

Breakfast was fantastic, they made sandwiches for our walk and really looked after us. Food portions were enormous and just what was needed after a tough fell walk.

The beer was great, sampled them all!

Pay this place a visit if you get the opportunity, it's great.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

It was a last minute search on Booking.com that found us the Strands Inn. From the moment we arrived we felt like we were returning customers rather than first time visitors. The room was lovely and quiet; comfy bed with everything we needed. Then it was straight to sample the beers from the microbrewery on site; then onto food..pork chop was lovely piece of meat, and fish pie yummy. Set in a tiny village; we had a nice walk down to Waswater the following morning which was a slow stroll for an hour after amazing huge breakfast. We will be back; as the staff team really made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McrTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Lesley & Mark are wonderful hosts, the staff are great as are the locals and tourists. It's a fabulous friendly, homely place to unwind and stay with all the comforts, also pet friendly with dogs curled up under there's owners chair in the pub of an evening.
The chicken curry, steak & ale pie, daily roast, every meal has been perfect. The atmosphere and spirits are high.
I stayed 3 nights and highly recommend Strands Inn as the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazzamooney54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Booked in as it was the closest place to Scafell....the inn is awesome, the owners are great, the food makes you want to sit in the bar all night and the open fire with dogs curled up in front of it makes it feel like heaven in a lost time and place. I can not say a bad thing about the place and would love to keep it a secret but good things are made to be shared.
Book in, bring your walking boots and never want to leave.....

Room Tip: En suite with a big bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wet-dog-123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Many thanks to Leslie and her husband for being so amenable and flexible with us last weekend. 9 of us stayed over the weekend to carry out our sponsored walk up Scafell Pike, spirits were high at times and we could be a bit rowdy (in a good way). They could not do enough for us, making sure we were comfortable and giving us good banter.The pub has a great atmosphere and a good beer selection from the micro brewery.The food is excellent, great breakfasts but also the food in the evening was above our expectations for "pub food" e.g. the seafood risotto and lamb platter were to die for. Also when they say authentic curry, that is exactly what it was, delicious!
I should not really be writing this review as I will be should be keeping this little gem a secret so I can ensure to get a room next time we plan a trip up to the Wasdale area!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yompers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Proprietors Mark and Lesley Corr, and manager Jo, appear to be just plain, kind and decent people. Sure, they've got a business to run and they do what they have to. But from the moment you arrive you are made to feel welcome, and they listen. This visit was a group booking of 24, pretty much taking over the hotel for 4 nights. Food was excellent, the wine list decent enough, and the micro brewery provides a fine range of beers. My own room was clean and comfortable, with ample hot water, and I consider the place good value. We did have to wait a while for our dinner, but that's perhaps not surprising as we were a group of 24 wanting to dine together, and they apologised profusely as they were a chef down due to an unexpected departure. I will return for sure. Listem out for Mark playing the Godfather theme tune n his squeez box (accordion), and look out for Jo's tattoo !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
0.0 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
8.6 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.3 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#2 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.0 mi away
Low Wood Hall Hotel
Low Wood Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strands Inn & Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strands Inn & Brewery

Property: Strands Inn & Brewery
Address: Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Nether Wasdale
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Strands Inn & Brewery Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing