We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent micro brewery”
Review of The Strands Inn

The Strands Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent micro brewery”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

After a little walk from Santon Bridge this was a really nice surprise. Their beer was really good and their garden was lovely. Really nice staff too

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beverley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    73
    14
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Let down by dessert”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Nice inn in the lake district. The menu is what you expect except some very delusions vegetarian dishes - great!! The food were great except the desert was not to our taste and came with a very small scoop of ice cream. The inn have own brewery so you can select from a range of home brewed beers.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Huge portions and friendly staff”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I ate here for one night whilst I stayed at the Youth Hostel. I ate soup for starter, followed by an absoluytely enormous gammon (which I couldn't finish), and some ice cream for dessert. The food was good, and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. I would certainly eat there again.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mildertduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Went here for dinner at recommendation of our hosts from Rainor's Farm and Yurts.
Went first time to have a drink and second time to eat! Range of menu's is amazing!
Party of four, all ordering different starters and mains, and no complaints at all. I had bruscetta with local chanterelles and blue cheese to start, divine! Other notable starter was the slow roasted belly-pork with black pudding.
Main course of home-made steak and ale pie was a real winner at the end of a long days walk.
Too stuffed for desserts!
A real winner - go there at the end of an arduous day an you will retire to bed a happy man/woman!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Friendly, comfortable traditional pub with great food.”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Very busy pub with a super atmosphere and friendly, efficient staff. Great beer and huge portions of good, honest food - just what you need after a day walking the hills.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArchdaleP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Strands Inn also viewed

Nether Wasdale, Lake District
 
Gosforth, Lake District
Holmrook, Seascale
 

Been to The Strands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing