We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Five Star Gem in the Lakes.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nether Wasdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

My first time back in the Lakes in over 7 years having lived in Greendale for a while.

The Strands is a beautiful Hotel, well run by the owners Mark and Lesley. Very friendly, professional service, offering a genuinely warm welcome.

The rooms are very comfortable, well equipped, perfect for a good nights sleep.

The bars and restaurant offering a good range of beers and wines. Some even brewed in the Hotels own Micro- Brewery.

The menu offering a daily changing selection of excellently cooked food, sourced locally, including fresh fish and rare breed meats.

My first night I had the Salamis and Antipasta, including Wild Boar and Venison, to start, followed by the homemade pie and chips, perfect.

On my second night, to start, a selection of rustic Terrines accompanied by warm breads followed by a Sirloin Steak, cooked Blue, again excellent.

After a days walking on the fells, what more do you want?

Well done and thank you, a perfect stay....

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Errazuriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
There are newer reviews for The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2013

We stayed at The Strands a few years ago and enjoyed it so much we took advantage of a weekend room offer. It was everything we wanted and more, the weather on the Saturday was great and we had chance to walk on the hills and take some amazing pictures.
The full English at breakfast set us up for the day and on return a pint in the bar before showering for the evening meal was smashing!
The food was impeccable and even with the generous portions it was all cleared with a sweet too!
The staff are friendly and accommodating, the room was clean comfortable and homily making the stay even more perfect.
We will definitely be returning to our favorite place in the lakes and our favorite hotel and would recommend The Strands to anyone who wants a home from home with great food and ales !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoemakerlancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Decided to get away from the busy places like Ambleside, Windermere and Keswick and what a little gem we found. Rang up on Friday and managed to get in for the Saturday, but it was like talking to a long lost friend they were so pleasant and helpful. Ideal location for walking the western fells and manged to get in three wainwrights on Saturday. On my return I had lunch which was very tasty and well priced just what was needed after an hard day on the fells.
One of the main attractions was the beer brewed behind the hotel, this provided an excellent selection of beers at a good price a lot cheaper than other parts of the lakes. The evening meal was again very good and well priced but a little hazy after trying all the beers.
The room itself was warm and comfortable with a brand new bathroom in it.
Breakfast was just what was needed to set you up for the day hot and tasty.
Would love to return in the summer to sample the beer gardens which look lovely with stunning views
Thanks again to Mark and Lesley and all the staff.

Room Tip: Room 11 with a brand new bathroom
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Was staying in Cumbria for Christmas and my parents told us about a great place called The Strands, they thought, that did amazing lunches for a fiver - we were going for a walk to Wasdale, so thought we would call in.

There are two pubs opposite each other, neither of which were offering the said offer, and no phone signal to check. I was pretty sure they had said the Strands, so we decided to try.

Sadly the offer was not on, it was the right place though, so we decided to give it a go.

Prices were still pretty competitive and well worth trying.

We had the Cream of Mushroom Soup, which was one of the best homemade soups tasted, with a cheese and pickle sandwich - couldn't go wrong with that. The other meal we tried was the Gammon Steak with Eggs and home made chips - one word - amazing. A juicy succulent Gammon Steak, which was massive and two deliciously runny fried eggs. Chips to die for as well.

Ok so we spent slightly more than the tenner we expected - not that much more around £17 plus drinks, but it was so worth it - it has to go down as one of the food highlights this trip.

One of West Cumbria's hidden gems, a fantastic atmosphere, a great selection of drinks, good buzzy conversation, immaculately clean. Struggling to find a negative, and I mean struggling.

Noticed the New Years Eve music night and dinner which looked great as well. Noticed they had rooms - no idea what they are like, but if the bar area is anything to go by, worth exploring.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dma1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We stayed here last year and it was evident a programme of decoration has taken place in the bedrooms. They cant be classed as luxury - more functional, the bathrooms are very small and old fashioned but it was all clean and comfortable.

Where this place excels is the bar area which is popular with locals as well as the residents. The food is excellent, the beer is great (so the other half says!) and the atmosphere buzzing. The owners are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is also very good and as a lot of people stay here as a base for walking it is perfect for setting you up for a days activity.

The location of this Inn is superb and Wast Water (the most beautiful and unspolit of all the lakes) is just 1/2 mile away sitting at the base of Scarfell and Great Gable. Perfect.........

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Stopped for lunch which was reasonably priced and tasty.

I found that a good selection of food was available, as was a broad selection of beers from the on-site micro brewery.

Good beer, good food, what more could you want?

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank ukFirebaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

A party of 8 of us stayed - all real ale drinkers, walkers and foodies- and we felt like we were in heaven. Loved the beers (especially Errm and Daffyd), food was great (some of us had the same meal both nights as they'd loved it so much!) and we still managed to climb Pillar and Buckbarrow!

Room Tip: Front rooms overlook the street but there's little passing traffic so no issues
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geuzegirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
18.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
21.8 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
357 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bridge Hotel
Bridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Buttermere
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Low Wood Hall Hotel
Low Wood Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery

Address: Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nether Wasdale
Price Range: £73 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strands Inn & Micro Brewery Mark and Lesley Corr welcome everybody to our Friendly Public Houses with Accommodation which we have been running the Strands Inn successfully since June 2006 with comfortable rooms serving full English breakfast. We are in the process of purchasing the Screes Inn since April 2017 hopefully contracts completed by May (watch this space) The Srcees Inn (From May 2017) Accommodation consists of 6 doubles 1 twin 2 family rooms The Strands Accommodation consists of 2 singles 8 doubles 4 twins and can be accommodating to turn a couple of their rooms into family rooms. We have public bars where we serve our own cask ales which we brew in our Micro Brewery, and we have large selection of Whiskeys and the amount of Gins are growing with the popularity which has been growing over the last couple of years We celebrate every year our Cask Ales with our Beer Festival which is just our Cask Ales on the following Weekend after the first May Bank Holiday. Which we started in 2007. We Serve food in several areas of the Strands Inn from 12 noon everyday until 9pm and on Sundays until 8pm Because our Free Fun Quiz Starts at 8:30pm on the Sunday. Dogs are welcome in our bars areas but, Sorry, we do not have any dogs stay in our bedrooms. The Screes Inn which is opposite our Strands Inn. the Bar will be open and we will be serving a different choice of food. Hope to see you soon Thank you Lesley and Mark Corr ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strands Hotel Nether Wasdale
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing