We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful setting, authentic old england”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nether Wasdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We zeroed in on the Strands after seeking a place off the beaten track in the Lake District so as to avoid the crowds. The well manicured lawns and preserved quaint towns fade out when you cross into the western lakes and its grassy remoteness is awe inspiring. Quite rainy compared to the other side but just nature and you and the other hikers. Very little road traffic which makes it an escape.

The owners and staff at the strand couldnt be more friendly and accommodating. That said, the rooms need more investment and rejuvenation - showers, carpets, key holes, paintjob, cleaning etc would go a long way here. This is not a place to take any remotely high maintenance person.

The pub is a nice place to relax after hiking. I would comment that the service was very good in terms of timing even under crowded conditions. The food was basic and very mediocre, (trying hard) and no bargain to offset this.

All of the above said, we had a great time and location can't be beat.

Stayed: August 2007
Thank hollyjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 198 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2007

Whilst wandering around The Lakes,and staying at Pooley Bridge, as one of our stops,we chatted with some people who had stayed at the Strands.
It was upon there recommendation that we decided to give it a try for three nights as part of our holiday.
We were welcomed with open arms,and the ambience was one of organised but low key professionalism from which it was obvious the hosts,Mark,and Leslie,cared a great deal about his business,and uppermost the well being of his customers.
Our room was more than adequate,the food we sampled at both breakfast and dinner was both excellent and plentiful.Home cooking at its best!
We are more than looking forward to returning to The Strands,and to ensure our same lovely room have already booked it pending our return in September.
Congratulations to Mark and Leslie, and may their great success continue.
Looking forward to seeing you then.
Paul and Christine Johnson.
P.S.I find it difficult to believe the "bad press" that The Strands has received,which I had no knowledge of until perusing this site.Obviously ,you both have something sufficiently special ,for what I can only perceive to be the local businesses tryIng to rock the very steady boat.They will not succeed if my high praise is anything to do with it!
.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pagrajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2007

What a shame John Cleese made a sitcom about a dire hotel in Torquay in the 1970's, because the Strands could make a great show along the lines of Fawlty Towers/ How Clean is Your House.
To start with the positives, the beer was fine, although the fact that the locals all drink at the Screes (the pub opposite) got me thinking.
The room was dirty, and there were no light shades...just bare bulbs (notes of Prisoner Cell-Block H!). We then went to eat, but it wasn't much chop. My roast lamb in 'orange and rosemary jus' was actually just roast lamb, and when I asked for the 'jus' I eventually got a tepid solution of gravy granules! The owner swore blind that it wasn't. This is the problem, judging by the number of cookery books behind the bar, it is clear that the owners are enthusiastic amateurs, and don't have much clue. To be fair, we got free desserts, and they were fine.
But to the breakfast the next day!!! I imagine London in the blitz was a bit like this. A party of elderly patrons actually were giggling about the wartime spirit! The poor lad who was working was vastly overstretched, and plates of uneaten breakfast (for it wasn't much good) were all over the place. We got served after about 50 minutes...a poor lady with a baby gave up totally and went to the Youth Hostel. I had to go scratching around in the cupboard to try to find cutlery for us. And there was no jam to be seen in the breakfast room all weekend. We had ordered packed lunches the night before, but they hadn't started to prepare then by 10,30, so we eschewed the service. I would have rather starved to death.
A nice touch was a poster inviting patrons to go online and vote for the Strands as a 'food hero'!
By the way, isn't it strange that the positive reviews on here know what the owners' names are?

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank RexyRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2007

Stayed at this pub with rooms recently for two nights bed and breakfast, and was disappointed that the place is so grubby. The carpets on the stairs and corridors are ingrained with mud. The bedroom carpets are not much better. The breakfast room tables had crumbs and spills, and were laid a full 24 hours before they were required for breakfast the next day - and because this room is also the way to the stairs, people are passing right next to the tables at any time of day. This just seems slovenly. Why can't the management see that this room is cleared, swept and the tables polished every morning?

Our breakfast table was laid in the darts room, which couldn't have seen a vacuum cleaner in days. But in its favour, the breakfast was freshly cooked to order with good ingredients, very tasty and hearty.

Our (somewhat oldfashioned) bedroom had clean bed linen and towels, but the shared bathroom had an ancient brown carpet that I did everything I could to avoid putting my bare feet down on.

This is such a lovely part of the world, and I hear that the bar food is good at this pub, and the beers good too. What a shame that The Strands lets itself down regarding cleanliness. A bucket of soapy water, a duster and polish, a broom and a vacuum cleaner would go a long way to making this place comfortable before any renovations are undertaken. Old fashioned is forgiveable, dirt is not.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anorthernlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2006

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Limestone_Cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2006

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jac_hurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nether Wasdale
10.7 mi away
Scafell Hotel
Scafell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosthwaite
870 reviews
9 mi away
Ennerdale Country House Hotel
15.6 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
18.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
10.7 mi away
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
New Dungeon Ghyll Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ambleside
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery

Address: Old Strands Nether Wasdale, Nether Wasdale CA20 1ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nether Wasdale
Price Range: £57 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strands Inn & Micro Brewery Mark and Lesley Corr welcome everybody to our Friendly Public Houses with Accommodation which we have been running the Strands Inn successfully since June 2006 with comfortable rooms serving full English breakfast. We are in the process of purchasing the Screes Inn since April 2017 hopefully contracts completed by May (watch this space) The Srcees Inn (From May 2017) Accommodation consists of 6 doubles 1 twin 2 family rooms The Strands Accommodation consists of 2 singles 8 doubles 4 twins and can be accommodating to turn a couple of their rooms into family rooms. We have public bars where we serve our own cask ales which we brew in our Micro Brewery, and we have large selection of Whiskeys and the amount of Gins are growing with the popularity which has been growing over the last couple of years We celebrate every year our Cask Ales with our Beer Festival which is just our Cask Ales on the following Weekend after the first May Bank Holiday. Which we started in 2007. We Serve food in several areas of the Strands Inn from 12 noon everyday until 9pm and on Sundays until 8pm Because our Free Fun Quiz Starts at 8:30pm on the Sunday. Dogs are welcome in our bars areas but, Sorry, we do not have any dogs stay in our bedrooms. The Screes Inn which is opposite our Strands Inn. the Bar will be open and we will be serving a different choice of food. Hope to see you soon Thank you Lesley and Mark Corr ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HostelWorld so you can book your The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strands Hotel Nether Wasdale
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing