We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious family weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nether Wasdale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Stile Farm & Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We hired a static caravan which was luxurious and very spacious, The owner was very friendly and helpful.
scenery is beautiful and my 6 year old daughter loved the play area and their is various short walks in the area. The camping area also looked great.
There are 2 pubs in walking distance and we were lucky to watch a live band.
We would definitely come here again .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezmanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed in 'The Hogget' Shepherds hut for the Monday-Friday from the 23rd September for my birthday. A lovelier way to visit the lake district I can't imagine! It was in a lovely area, nice and secluded which is always a plus point for us, but also within a good driving distance of plenty of places. There was a fire pit provided which was very welcome on an evening as it was getting chilly, but the woodburning heater/stove in the hut wasn't needed as it kept nice and warm inside on a night. The sofa/bed was extremely comfortable and it was always lovely to wake up to a view of the mountains across the fields (once the fog had cleared!).
The owners were very pleasant, she deals with the campsite mainly while he runs the farm, and runs after escaping sheep... :) It is a working sheep farm and while we were there they were doing their annual checks which they use the gated entrance for, but they usually kept this to the evening so we never needed to get out in the car during this time and we could just climb over the gates and walk through the sheep.
The toilets were kept in very good condition, I didn't even see one spider! And the price was just right.
All in all a very nice place to stay and we will definitely be going back again!

Room Tip: The Shepherds huts are good value for money, especially compared to camping prices in the area. Very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelandSam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

On a very wet and wild three days in the lake district. We came upon this campsite after finding out that the national trust campsite was closed. The friendly owners quickly got us sorted and recommended a great sheltered spot to pitch the tent. They even gave us some washing power to wash our gear. The camsite had great facilities and the strand inn is only across the road from the entrance snd Scafell pike is only a five minute drive away.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Scrumb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just returned from a fantastic stay in The Hogget...one of the Shepherds Huts for my boyfriends birthday. The decor was lovely and it was more spacious than we thought. The woodburner kicks out the heat so it stays super cosy even if the weather is poor outside. The views to the surrounding mountains through the stable door were great and lovely to wake up to. Wasdale has 2 great pubs only a few mins walk away. We ate at The Strands and were not disappointed, excellent homecooked food. We were glad we pre booked a table as it was really busy. Great location to go out an explore the Lake District from. It was so nice to be away from the touristy spots. Would definitely come back and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louiseclairecoveney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just had a lovely and totally relaxing weekend. The site was beautifully maintained and the location is superb with stunning sea views. The proprietors and staff were all so helpful which made us feel very welcome. Can`t wait to go back. We would thoroughly recommend for you to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juzefiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stated here in August 2013 and had a great stay. It was very clean and tidy and extremely peaceful. It us a campsite fur families and walkers and us in a great area near Waswater. My 7 year old son lives the children's area and every night helping to feed the lambs . The farmer and his wife were extremely helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rattol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the site having minor car issues, checked in at reception, very friendly owners who also advised of a good local garage. The electric hook up pitch we were allocated was a more than adequate size so we had loads of room. The facilities we kept spotless even despite the torrential overnight rain. The site is on a working farm and the kids were asked if they wanted to help feed the lambs which was a really nice touch. The pub next to the site was very friendly and had no issues with children. Scenery was amazing and Wastwater was walkable. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank akinsella46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nether Wasdale hotels
0.2 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
0.2 mi away
Low Wood Hall Hotel
Low Wood Hall Hotel
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
124 reviews
1.2 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Stile Farm & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Stile Farm & Campsite

Address: Churchstile Farm, Nether Wasdale, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Nether Wasdale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Nether Wasdale
Also Known As:
Church Stile Farm & Campsite Nether Wasdale, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing