We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place, can't wait to come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Ranked #4 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed here as a family of 4. (Two girls aged 3 and 1) Staff were really friendly and very helpful and we were shown to our room. The room was a great size for all of us and had lovely views of the owls and mountains.
Decor was a little dated but gave it charm. Room spotless and we had everything we could ever need, with a shared kitchen and lounge. Beds lovely and comfortable and we all slept very well.
Breakfast was outstanding, never had a better full english. Staff very friendly too! The best bit of this bed and breakfast is that you get access to the castle grounds, even when all the vistors were gone. This included the owls, which the girls loved! Would highly recommend this bed and breakfast and will be back very soon. Very good value for money, especially with all the extras!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

Really nice place to stay and including free entry to the Owl World. The castle grounds are beautiful and great to walk around when all the day visitors have left.
The Owls were hooting throughout the night which is a little annoying if like me you're a light sleeper.
Good breakfast, polite staff and great location.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THUMPER553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Me and my partner stayed in the coachmans quarters for one evening using a freshweekends voucher.
We arrived early as has no where else to go, and they let us in our room straight away despite being early.
Huge spaces within the accommodation to relax such as the lounge and kitchen, in addition to a large and spacey room. Despite being quite simply decorated, it was all well kept, clean and tidy.

The glorious castle in beautiful surroundings with amazing views takes your breath away. Especially when we could wander around the grounds when it was all closed and was it beautifully quiet.
The owls are a must! We went about half 5 when it was feeding time and we saw all of the owls flying to their food and fighting over it etc, something you wouldn't normally.
Order a lovely evening meal from the cafe to microwave up in the kitchen is a must or you'll go hungry. Free wifi which is handy as no phone signal! The breakfast was absolutely fabulous, nicest I have had in a long time. You choose what you want and how many and they'll rustle it all up!
Above all, the staff were the kindest and happiest I've met. On our way out it was the heaviest of rains, and as we turned to face the walk to ravenglass station they had organised one of the staff to take us in their car. They were very informative about the castles history which was fascinating (including the ghosts!!) and Made us feel totally at ease.

A must!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EttyCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed for my husband's birthday and already planning to return. Great attention to detail in the accommodation and all the staff we met were friendly. Lovely gardens and a plus that we could explore before and after the ground were open to the public. Superb breakfast, the only negative point being the lack of restaurant facilities for an evening meal. Would recommend a visit to The Ratty Arms in Ravenglass however - good food at reasonable prices!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlisonG6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Charming place in the grounds of Muncaster Castle. Free admission to gardens and owls included in your stay, We paid £65 for a double room through bookings.com for B&B. Excellent value for money and at a push within walking distance to Ravenglass for your evening meal - although there isn't a lot there, so choice is limited. Breakfast was full english served in the castle tea room and was ok.
We stayed in the Granary Annex and the only minus point was the shower it was one of those enclosed pods so it was very small and wouldn't be suitable for anybody very tall or large!
We would definately stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: use a booking agent to get the best price.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

My husband and I recently stayed in The Granery, the room was clean and very comfortable. The check in process was easy and we were in our room within minutes. All the staff from all areas were very welcoming. It was peaceful and we had an excellent nights sleep and a fantastic breakfast .

The granery was situated over the court yard overlooking the coachmans quarters, but we had a good view of the castle and surrounding area.

We veiwed all the grounds including the castle and it was a fantastic insight into the history of the castle and the family that resides there at present.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yang_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This is one of the best places I have ever stayed. The room itself was clean and well equipped, and there was a decent sized lounge and kitchen, which was unusual for Bed and Breakfast accommodation. The staff were all lovely, breakfast was spot on, we got reduced entry to the castle as well as to the nearby Ravenglass railway. But besides all of this was the location - we arrived early evening, and were the only ones (it seemed) left in the grounds of Muncaster castle, so were free to roam in this beautiful garden for the rest of the evening as the sun set, going round the church and having a go on the playground. It was magical! I simply couldn't believe it. I'll be going back there again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne_Manchester_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
1.2 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
355 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
152 reviews
2.6 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#3 of 10 in Eskdale
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
5.6 mi away
YHA Wasdale Hall
YHA Wasdale Hall
#2 of 2 in Nether Wasdale
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters

Address: Muncaster Castle, Ravenglass CA18 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range: £75 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muncaster`s Coachman`s Quarters Hotel Ravenglass
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing