We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To The rescue!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Ranked #4 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Building work at the Boot Inn (one of the Pennington Chain of Hotels) was not quite refurbished in time for our visit so it appeared as the whole company did there upmost to sort us alternative accomodation out.
We spent an evening at the Coachmans Quarters that sits in amazing grounds and is home to an Owl Santuary that you are given free access to.
On our arrival Sarah and her colleague sorted us out very efficiently and made us feel really welcome.
A table was booked at the Pennington Hotel a short drive away and again the staff were amazing. The young barman, Frazer was extremely helpful and a credit to the hotel, the chef must have been an artist at some point as all 3 courses were works of art and tasted delicious - definitely recommend this place for fine dining.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

I stayed in trhe coachmans quarters with my partner and daughter on the 22nd February 2013 for 2 nights. We had the whole area to ourselves and freedom to go into the gardens during our stay.

The staff were so friendly and even though we were the only guests, everything was open, cooked breakfast was prepared and there was always someone there to assist us with everything we needed.

The chambermaid and reception staff were fantastic when suggesting excursions and even had vouchers for money off which they were more than happy to offer.

Overall The stay was amazing, the staff very welcoming and the quarters were perfect. I really look forward to returning soon.

Thank you!!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5 which was roomy with great views of the owlery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saritasaunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Lovely weekend at Muncaster complete with dog. The set up there is really great and gets the imagination going for big family get togethers with the large lounge, kitchen and dining room . We were two on our own but appreciated fridge space in the kitchen. Our bathroom was very basic but more importantly clean , room more than adequate. Nice to have breakast cooked to order and all the staff we came into contact with were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a dog friendly room but has no shower curtain or screen !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Went. For new yrs eve. Fantstic unbelievable, you. Get complete use of. Surroundings. Gardens are amazing. Loads. To experience. Owls. We're. Great to see.. you will. Have. Views. To die for. U will need Ayr least. 2. Days to explore it all. Castles. Lovely coachmans. Quarters. Are out of this world. One of the best breakfasts. You will. Ever have. Beautiful.. bedrooms. Spotless. Kitchen. Fully. Equipped. Dining room. Massive. Lounge. Amazing. You have everything. You want. Plenty parking. Amazing. Place. To discover. Go and enjoy. Ravenglass 5 min away. Loads to see and explore. Go to seascale. As well. Cud go on and on. Enjoy......

Room Tip: Room 7. Next to owls relaxing. Get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed at Muncaster 11/12 December on KGB deal - the quarters were very clean and comfy we were in room 1 which was adapted for disabled overlooking owl sanctuary - quarters very well appointed would be ideal for a large group or family. There was no mobile signal but wi-fi was easily accessed and fast. There are no pubs or restaurants nearby but we ate at the ratty arms in Ravenglass serving hearty pub grub with very friendly hosts - staff at The Pennington offered us a lift if we went down in the evening. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Walked around the grounds in the morning and then into owl sanctuary -as it was out of season we felt we had the place to ourselves!! Owls were brilliant and very well cared for - saw the heron feeding 21 wild herons flew in -an amazing sight!! We were very lucky to be joined at breakfast by Patrick the castle owner - what a lovely man. We had a wonderful stay can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drivingforcesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We decided to stay Muncaster as a birthday treat, the weather on the Saturday was bad which obscured the lovely surrounding's, on the Sunday the weather was sunny which really complimented the house, grounds and surrounding scenery. The quarters were clean but room 3 a little small but cozy feel, good tea and coffee facilities. Our room overlooked the Owl grounds and they have a huge range of owls which are free to guests, they have Red kites and a Buzzard.
Entry to the castle £2 for guests, breakfast excellent. The only downside is there is not much outside the grounds in terms of shops, Ravenglass couple of pubs and a store which is not always open, had to travel to a Mace (Petrol garage) 4 miles up the road {left turn on leaving castle} to get some wine and ice cream, further up over the bridge nice pub with big food portions. Visited Wastwater which is not to far away, in all great weekend which i recommend highly.

Room Tip: Room 3 over looks the Owl grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goshawk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

An absloutely beautiful place, friendly staff, great breakfast and the owls are very well cared for and are very interesting. However our room was so small that my husband said he felt like he was sitting in his mates bedroom like teenagers! Definitely in need of a lick of paint and some TLC - although it was clean. Still, not 4 star by any stretch as advertised - I would say a good 2 star. The biggest disappointment for us was there was no access to a bar! This should be clearly advertised for those visiting for a winter break. And as there are no shops or other places within walking distance we were very, very bored in the evening. So much so that we booked for two nights but came home after one. The scenery is breathtaking, and the grounds are very well cared for. But if you want more than a pretty place, a good breakfast and a bed then you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravenglass hotels
0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
367 reviews
0 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
176 reviews
0 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Muncaster Country Guest House
Show Prices

Been to Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters

Address: Muncaster Castle, Ravenglass CA18 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range: £88 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muncaster`s Coachman`s Quarters Hotel Ravenglass
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing