We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 day break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Ranked #4 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Enjoyed our stay our room was excellent, very comfortable, the castle and grounds are worth a visit and included in the price. Breakfast was first class, cooked on order to your liking- such alot to see in the area., take walking boots,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay! Besides oozing history, the room was very well appointed. A large flat screen TV, a nice big bathroom with power shower that actually had power, great broadband and the room was spacious and spotlessly clean. By far the biggest plus point though was not the fantastic breakfast, or the brilliant staff.....No, it was the breathtaking surroundings and miles of gardens! And I haven't even mentioned the castle itself, or the Owl sanctuary! A wonderful place for a short stay if you're visiting the Lakes!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chriskennedy1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for two nights. Lovely big, comfortable bed in a clean room overlooking the owlery. The breakfast was very well cooked. We enjoyed walking round the beautiful grounds of the castle after the day visitors had gone in the evening and again in the morning before they arrived. After watching a beautiful sunset over the water at Ravenglass, we had a very nice meal at the Ratty Arms. We found Muncaster to be a good base for getting to Wast Water (Britain's favourite view) and for the car parks to climb Scafell Pike.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I have just arrived back from an overnight stay at Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters & I must say it well earns its 4 star rating. We stayed in a room overlooking the owls with a well appointed bathroom and, even with 3 beds in the room, it was still a very spacious room. The freshly cooked breakfast was excellent & all the staff I interacted with were friendly, courteous & helpful. The rest of the facilities inluded a fully equiped kitched, lounge & dining room for the guests to use.The room cost included entrance into the owl centre & gardens, with just a small supplement to enter the castle.
The owl centre staff were very knowledgable & willing to answer all of our questions. The conservation talk given at the front lawn was humerous while passing on a lot of good infomation. The children loved the talk & the chance to hold a barn owl.
My only minor disappointment was that there wasnt somewhere to eat dinner without travelling & if the sample menus were correct not really suitable for children, as a precaution I had taken some food with me "just in case", and made use of the kitchen.
Would i stay there again?....absolutely, but would take an easy prepared meal if travelling with children.

Room Tip: room 1 is very spacious & suitable for disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill-and-Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The room was clean and comfortable with everything you need. The bed was very soft but we actually slept quite well. The breakfasts were excellent and cooked freshly to order - you could choose exactly what you wanted and how many of each item (within reason!) There is a clean, well equipped kitchen which can be used to cook your own food if you want and a large comfy lounge with a flat screen TV, books, games and jigsaws.
You will not be able to get a phone signal but there is a payphone with reasonable charges or you can phone out from the room although I'm not sure of the charges. There is also free Wifi which worked well in room 6 so we could use FB chat or What's app to contact people.
If you want to eat out in the evening you will have to travel away from the castle. I suggest you reserve a table even for a bar snack as local pubs were very busy.
The best bit was being able to wander around the gardens and the owls when the public had left. It is a lovely spot and very quiet and peaceful.
All members of staff were helpful and friendly without being 'over the top' . All in all it was a very relaxing couple of nights - we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed for two nights in comfortable, clean and well serviced accommodation. We have stayed several times before and will most certainly be doing so again. The accommodation is excellent value with a well equipt kitchen available for resident use. Also the castle grounds are open as part of the cost and always a pleasure to walk around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Stayed for two nights bed and breakfast in Coachmans Quarters. Our room overlooked the owls , one of which seemed to be having a conversation with the wood pigeons. The room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious, served by friendly and helpful staff. The grounds were magnificent and the advantage of staying there was once the public had left for the day, we had the grounds for the rest of the evening. The meals served during the day in the little cafe are very good value. Excellent value for money all round.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
1.2 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
366 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
176 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Muncaster Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters

Address: Muncaster Castle, Ravenglass CA18 1RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range: £78 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muncaster`s Coachman`s Quarters Hotel Ravenglass
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing