We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay work work or play”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great place to stay work work or play”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

A warm welcome and comfortable surrooundings count for so much and Mike & Elaine deliver both and more in this small and friendly place.
The place is a characterful old cottage with all modern facilities. A lot of thought has gone into the presentation of this b&b. There is a lot of attention to detail. It works.
I enjoyed a good cooked breakfast.
I was here on business but the Bay Horse would be a great getaway for those who want to enjoy the dramatic solitude of this coastal area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
79
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I cannot recommend too highly this wonderful little haven of peace, with its unparalleled home comfort and enchanting decor. Hosts Elaine and Mike have poured all their very best efforts and skill into creating this B&B from a remarkable past as an Inn with smuggling history and their attention to detail is evident at every turn. The weather being (predictably) cold wet and blustery in my second visit here mid-October, plus knowing that we 'soft southerners' can't take the cold so well :-) it was a relief to find the accommodation delightfully warm and cosy throughout. The breakfast ingredients were so fresh and generous that I wondered how this is achieved in such a remote location but of course this is because VERY local ingredients are used! The coffee is also top-notch thanks to Elaine's brilliant latte-making machine. Elaine and Mike just cannot do enough for you, they are the perfect hosts. Visit and stay, you may have been let down with sub standards elsewhere many times; you won't be here.

Room Tip: Esk is an ideal single room; Mite and Irt are the doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossbrowning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high peak
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I had a most enjoyable stay as always ! i have stayed quite a few times and feel drawn to The Bay Horse, as it's full of character and charm! that you don't see alot of these days, Beautifully kept so nice and clean the bedrooms and most important it feels so cosy and special every time i visit. I would recommend it to anyway who wanted a break to get away from it all! just the job, cos you will surely get well looked after and nothing's too much trouble from Mike and Elaine.....simply the best!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Have not put review on here as it was a well kept secret,however after our third stay ,just have to share this gem of a bed and breakfast.From the decor to the breakfast,nothing can fault the Bay Horse.This is by far one of the best places to stay in England.
The Hosts have a dream to develop the best bed and breakfast,if you can it is worth adding Ravenglass to your tour of the Lake District just to stay here.

Room Tip: both rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandsue60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We found this lovely B&B through their well deserved trip advisor rating. everything from the welcome, the room, the breakfast was lovely. The extra touches in the room with fresh flowers, water, fruit, biscults and chocolates made the Bay Horse extra special. A lovely room, comfy bed, great shower, fantastic food run by a lovely welcoming couple.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobbsL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2011

An outstanding bed and breakfast experience..the owners have gone the extra mile. The location is terrific - no traffic noise and right next to the beach. The rooms have tasteful decor and those little extra touches - fruit, flowers, chocolates, water - make all the difference. An astonishingly excellent breakfast, properly cooked and well presented. An excellent place to stay for walkers too, with Wasdale and Wastwater in easy reach by car. I'll be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger5234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Elaine and Mike were so welcoming and the decor retains a traditional flare which immediately made me smile with excitement!
Our room was beautifully renovated with great beams and a gorgeous en suite with walk in shower and very smart fittings. The attention to detail was lovely, thorntons chocolates on the bed, fresh fruit, complementary bottle of water.
In easy reach of a few pubs. We chose the Holly House which to note is animal friendly. Lovely food.
The breakfast Mike cooked was outstanding! Top marks!
We weren't rushed out which makes a pleasant change.
Would happily have paid double for the stay! Was incredible value with the beach 40 feet away and the quality of the service and rooms. Can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EttyCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
0.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
347 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
0.0 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
1.4 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
3.7 mi away
The Santon Bridge Inn
The Santon Bridge Inn
#2 of 5 in Holmrook
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bay Horse Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Horse is situated in the Lake District's only coastal village, Ravenglass. It is an 18th century former Coaching Inn which has been lovingly restored to enhance it's charm and character.The original features of the property have been uncovered revealing oak lintels, wooden doors, panelling, beams and fireplaces. If you like old properties you will love our home.The Bay Horse offers 2 double bedrooms and 1 single furnished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Bed And Breakfast Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing