We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flying start to coast-to-coast bike ride”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nr. York, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Flying start to coast-to-coast bike ride”
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We have just returned from a 3-day Ravenglass to South Shields bike ride for charity - Hadrian's Way. The Bay Horse was a fabulous place to spend the night before starting - very comfortable, welcoming and lots of little luxurious touches such as Thornton's chocolates on the pillow, and very good quality toiletries. The breakfast was excellent too - all locally sourced, and with fabulous home-made jams. Treat yourself before spending all those hours in the saddle...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BinksyNr_York_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
78
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
nuneaton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Lovely old house beautifully converted.Great nights sleep and super breakfast.Home made jams were a real treat. Thanks

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quinn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halifax
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is for those wanting something that bit special and quiet.
The B &B is brilliant and the rooms are renovated to a top standard.
Breakfast was the best and the owners go all out to make your stay special.
The ratty arms we ate at and found very good.Ravenglass itself very small but ideal for de stressing.The little extras in the room were much appreciated,chocs, fruit and quality wine glasses!!We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breakawayHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Beautifully converted old coaching inn. Very friendly welcome and comfortable room. Excellent breakfast. Well worth a visit.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trekbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warwickhire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This is a lovely place to visit, we would recommend you stay here more than one night to take in the local sites, also a great place to stop if travelling north. The B&B is fantastic, Mike and Elaine go out of their way to make your stay memorable, Breakfasts are wonderful!.

Room Tip: They are all lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Stopped for 3 nights once again can not fault anything about the place or the hosts.The Bay Horse sets the standard for the rest.Only comment on Ravenglass its self,only place to eat in the evening The Pennigton,forget the others

Room Tip: All perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveandsue60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

10 things to do before you die: 1 - Spend a night or more at the Bay Horse.

This is the umpteenth time that I have stayed at Bay Horse.

This is the umpteenth time that I have declared it as excellent.

Mike and Elaine are hosts par excellence.

There you have it - excellent.

What more can I say?

I know - EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skirlston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
0.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
0.0 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
2.4 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
1.0 mi away
Muncaster Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bay Horse Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Horse is situated in the Lake District's only coastal village, Ravenglass. It is an 18th century former Coaching Inn which has been lovingly restored to enhance it's charm and character.The original features of the property have been uncovered revealing oak lintels, wooden doors, panelling, beams and fireplaces. If you like old properties you will love our home.The Bay Horse offers 2 double bedrooms and 1 single furnished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Bed And Breakfast Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing