We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Really lovely cottage with exposed beams, tastefully furnished and decorated in keeping with the style of the cottage. Very friendly and helpful couple. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Gorgeous breakfast with plenty of choice to set you up for the day. Great location, so peaceful and lots to see and do in the surrounding area. Pub just up the road serving traditional pub food. Cant wait to see the new room they are about to renovate, I am sure it will be fantastic! We shall certainly return. The Bay Horse is one of the best B and B we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We could only get away for one night for our wedding anniversary but we left the Bay Horse feeling refreshed and relaxed. From first impressions - barrow loads (literally) of flowers in front of a lovingly restored 18th century house - to the delicious jar of home made rhubarb and ginger jam that we left with we could not have asked for more.
We loved the quirkiness of the old house; Mike and Elaine have done a fantastic job of combining modern comforts with this beautiful listed building. The breakfast was delicious and vegetarians were well catered for. We particularly enjoyed the fresh fruit salad and home made jams.
Fresh fruit in the room was another nice touch and not something you see very often in B&Bs.
All in all - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Whilst on our recent visit to the lakes we spent an impromptu night at this amazing B&B. After spending a day with friends in Ravenglass we decided that we would try the Bay Horse for one night instead of travelling back to Keswick after a recommendation.

Both Mike & Elaine were extremely friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms were very comfortable, clean and finished to the highest of standards. The attention to detail was second to none and the complementary fruit, water and even a shoe cleaning and sewing kit was more that expected.

We woke up after a very comfortable nights sleep to what can only be described as the best full English breakfast in the land!! Every item on the plate was locally produced and the quality meats made this very special.

We can not recommend this B&B highly enough as words can not fully describe our stay. It was truly an experience and not just a place to stay and eat.

With very kind regards and sincere thanks

Tim & Zena

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed one night in a peaceful and friendly place. The owners were lovely and very considerate they only knew us for a very short length of time. Breakfast was lovely fresh and enjoyable. The room magnificent. Original and unique in my mind. Serious chat need by the couple staying. The Bay Horse and the tiny village helped us do that. We left for Scotland for an expensive hotel. The food here was better. Thank You

Room Tip: Very small Very quiet Be aware if you want this you will get it! X
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is a superb B&B, that offers everything you could wish for in four star accommodation. We were in the " Irt " one of two double rooms available - the third being a single. Each room is named after the local rivers. This 18th century cottage was originally a coaching inn and the current owners have done wonders to restore it sympathetically to incorporate all modern facilities. Our room had all the thoughtful little touches that make a stay special: fresh flowers, fruit, and bottled water on our bedsides. The bathroom was well appointed and the complimentary products of a high quality. After a good, quiet and restful night's sleep we were treated to the best B&B breakfast we have ever had. First course included the choice of a magnificent fresh fruit salad and the first rate jams and marmalades were home made. Local produce, including delicious Waberthwaite Cumberland sausage, was cooked and presented excellently. The owners, Mike and Elaine were very welcoming and helpful to us. We just couldn't fault it - our only complaint is we could only spend one night - but we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Our first stay - we were absolutely delighted with the quality of accomodation and service. The property is a small historic building and crammed with character but lacks nothing in creature comforts. Elaine and Mike were welcoming but inobtrusive hosts. Breakfast topped off the stay and was up to the standard of one in a 4 star hotel the week before. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grastejoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were given 2 nights at this B&B as a present and we were very impressed. It is a lovingly restored old cottage which retains its character and charm but is very comfortable. Mike and Elaine are very friendly hosts without being overbearing and clearly enjoy running the Bay Horse. They put a lot of care and attention into making sure that everything is just right and there are a lot of nice touches like fruit fruit and chocolates in the room. Even the tea making facilities in the room included filter coffee, 'posh' biscuits and the offer of fresh milk. Everything is a touch better than you would expect. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was more than big enough and tall enough for a 6 footer! Having a location at the end of the street it was very quiet at night. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and immaculately decorated. There is a small but cosy lounge which we used one morning while waiting for the rain to stop.

The breakfast was really good, with very fresh fresh fruit, and a delicious cooked breakfast. The jam and marmalade was all home made and so good we bought some to take home. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravenglass hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
176 reviews
0 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Muncaster Country Guest House
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast

Address: Bay Horse Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range: £76 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Horse is situated in the Lake District's only coastal village, Ravenglass. It is an 18th century former Coaching Inn which has been lovingly restored to enhance it's charm and character.The original features of the property have been uncovered revealing oak lintels, wooden doors, panelling, beams and fireplaces. If you like old properties you will love our home.The Bay Horse offers 2 double bedrooms and 1 single furnished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Bed And Breakfast Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing