We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

One of the best b&b's I've stayed in - very clean, great attention to detail. Elaine and Michael were welcoming, helpful and friendly. Excellent to receive a bottle of water each day as I find the tap water unpleasant. The breakfast choice was wonderful - particularly the fresh fruit; it was all perfect.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlissHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
80
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a truly wonderful place. A lot of work has been put into the house by Elaine and Mike.
They obviously love what they do and it shows, with all the special little touches. We had a really great time. The room was lovely with chocolates and fresh fruit, plus a bottle of mineral water( and of course tea and coffee plus biscuits). They were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was superb. Again fresh fruit if you wanted and home made jam. Ravenglass itself is a lovely place.
There is the railway and Muncaster castle, plenty of walks(along the beach). There are three places to eat The Ravenglass Inn, The Pennington Hotel and The Ratty Pub ( very popular you need to book). We would certainly like to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved it! It was the best B&B of our holiday. Elaine and Michael have put their all into this B&B and it shows, no detail is left to chance. The whole of this B&B has been re made to the highest standard. And such a lovely position in Ravenglass. Near to the slipway and the beach at the foot of the village. A lovely breakfast was cooked by Michael and we were so sorry to leave this haven.

Room Tip: We had a room called Irt and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Bay Horse B&B may be the finest B&B we have ever stayed. The total experience is simply superb.

Elaine and Mike have seen to every last detail with insight, care, and excellence. The place is gorgeous and every aspect of our stay was top notch.

The food is among the freshest and finest I have ever had and I truly have rarely felt so welcomed and appreciated. The Bay Horse is a treasure in one of the planet's most beautiful locations. Savor and enjoy every moment. And make new friends for life.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tpmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and i have just spent the weekend in Ravenglass staying at The Bay Horse.
We booked last minute and were lucky to get in.

This B&B is fantastic!
The hosts, Elaine and Mike were great and the breakfast is to die for.
The rooms are so cosy and spotless with a lovely ensuite bathroom.
Elaine has thought of everything and its defenately 5 star accomodation.

The location is great as its on the main street 2 minutes walk from the 3 pubs in the village.
In the evening we ate at the Inn at Ravenglass and the food was spot on and very reasonable.
You are also a 5 minute walk to The Eskdale railway which is a must.

The only problem was that i couldnt stay for a couple more nights, but i will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOZHOLS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were recommended this Little Gem of a B&B by a colleague of mine, and I have to say that both my husband and I were not disappointed. The place was spotless and full of character with great attention to detail in the rooms. The English Breakfast was excellent and made with locally sourced produce according to our hosts, who were both very welcoming and attentive. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone considering visiting the Western Lake District.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesBaxt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed at the Bay Horse in March and can only say we will definitely be back. It has been wonderfully restored by Mike and Elaine and the attention to detail is exceptional. The warm welcome, the lovely room with all the little extras, the comfortable bed and the best english breakfast ever made this a memorable weekend.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanandPaul2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
0.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
351 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
149 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Strands Inn & Strands Brewery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Carleton Green Country House B & B
1.2 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
0.0 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bay Horse Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Horse is situated in the Lake District's only coastal village, Ravenglass. It is an 18th century former Coaching Inn which has been lovingly restored to enhance it's charm and character.The original features of the property have been uncovered revealing oak lintels, wooden doors, panelling, beams and fireplaces. If you like old properties you will love our home.The Bay Horse offers 2 double bedrooms and 1 single furnished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Bed And Breakfast Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing