We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful job the have done” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a wonderful job the have done”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

I recently stayed at The Bay Horse on the two separate occasions as I was walking in the Lake District and only needed one night on each of the weekends I was there, this is something that is hard to find in the lakes, somewhere that will accept one night on a weekend so that was the first big thumbs up to The Bay Horse.
Elaine and Mike have done a wonderful job of transforming this old coaching house into a fantastic yet compact BnB.
The building has real character and this has really been considered during the rebuild,
All Furnishing at to the highest standards, lovely fine quality bed linen, tea and coffee making facilities and you even get a little chocolate to welcome you on arrival.
The Bathrooms are ultra modern but yet with in keeping, old style cisterns with pull chains and old world looking sinks and toilets but with up to date functionality.
The whole place is spotless from top to bottom. and every thought considered to making your stay just perfect.
The breakfast is very good, you select this the night before and they even went to the extra effort of starting half an hour early to allow me to get walking earlier which is something I really appreciated, even the fresh orange juice has been covered up to stop anything which may land in it being prevented to do so.
I enjoyed both my evenings at The Bay Horse and as a first I don't think I can suggest anything which they may improve on.
you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytraveller186409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
75
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

I stayed here with my partner for two nights and we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly!

It's a cosy B&B lovingly renovated and managed by Elaine and Michael. There are 3 rooms available - 2 double bed and 1 single bed. We stayed in the "Mite" double room, named after one of the 3 rivers in Ravenglass.

The room had sufficient space for us to move around, even with our luggages placed on the floor. With beautiful wooden beams running across the ceiling and matching furniture, the aesthetics were definitely pleasing to the eye. The bed and pillows were really comfortable, providing us with a good night rest. Little touches like bottles of water, tea/coffee, shortbread biscuits and fresh fruits added to the overall pleasant experience.

Breakfast is included as well. You get to choose from a list of breakfast items which is prepared fresh and served hot at your preferred time. There's even options for vegetarians too, well thought. I would say breakfast is a sumptuous spread for me as there's fresh fruit, granola, musli, fresh milk & juices available as well.

This is one of the best B&B we have stayed in, definitely value for money and we would return again for another stay.

Thank you Elaine and Michael for providing such impeccable service and having such a wonderful B&B!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

One of the best b&b's I've stayed in - very clean, great attention to detail. Elaine and Michael were welcoming, helpful and friendly. Excellent to receive a bottle of water each day as I find the tap water unpleasant. The breakfast choice was wonderful - particularly the fresh fruit; it was all perfect.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlissHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is a truly wonderful place. A lot of work has been put into the house by Elaine and Mike.
They obviously love what they do and it shows, with all the special little touches. We had a really great time. The room was lovely with chocolates and fresh fruit, plus a bottle of mineral water( and of course tea and coffee plus biscuits). They were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was superb. Again fresh fruit if you wanted and home made jam. Ravenglass itself is a lovely place.
There is the railway and Muncaster castle, plenty of walks(along the beach). There are three places to eat The Ravenglass Inn, The Pennington Hotel and The Ratty Pub ( very popular you need to book). We would certainly like to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We loved it! It was the best B&B of our holiday. Elaine and Michael have put their all into this B&B and it shows, no detail is left to chance. The whole of this B&B has been re made to the highest standard. And such a lovely position in Ravenglass. Near to the slipway and the beach at the foot of the village. A lovely breakfast was cooked by Michael and we were so sorry to leave this haven.

Room Tip: We had a room called Irt and it was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinibar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
154 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

The Bay Horse B&B may be the finest B&B we have ever stayed. The total experience is simply superb.

Elaine and Mike have seen to every last detail with insight, care, and excellence. The place is gorgeous and every aspect of our stay was top notch.

The food is among the freshest and finest I have ever had and I truly have rarely felt so welcomed and appreciated. The Bay Horse is a treasure in one of the planet's most beautiful locations. Savor and enjoy every moment. And make new friends for life.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tpmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My wife and i have just spent the weekend in Ravenglass staying at The Bay Horse.
We booked last minute and were lucky to get in.

This B&B is fantastic!
The hosts, Elaine and Mike were great and the breakfast is to die for.
The rooms are so cosy and spotless with a lovely ensuite bathroom.
Elaine has thought of everything and its defenately 5 star accomodation.

The location is great as its on the main street 2 minutes walk from the 3 pubs in the village.
In the evening we ate at the Inn at Ravenglass and the food was spot on and very reasonable.
You are also a 5 minute walk to The Eskdale railway which is a must.

The only problem was that i couldnt stay for a couple more nights, but i will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LOZHOLS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
0.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Muncaster Country Guest House
1.2 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast and Betty's Cottage
0.0 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
5.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
2.9 mi away
Irton Hall B&B
Irton Hall B&B
#1 of 7 in Eskdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Address: Bay Horse Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bay Horse is situated in the Lake District's only coastal village, Ravenglass. It is an 18th century former Coaching Inn which has been lovingly restored to enhance it's charm and character.The original features of the property have been uncovered revealing oak lintels, wooden doors, panelling, beams and fireplaces. If you like old properties you will love our home.The Bay Horse offers 2 double bedrooms and 1 single furnished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Horse Bed And Breakfast Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing