We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful location, village pub”
Review of Holly House Hotel

Holly House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravenglass
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Holly House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 February 2013

On my last visit to Ravenglass, I stopped here for a quick snack and a pint before the long train journey home. Friendly atmosphere, decent price for food and drink. Not amazing to look at on the inside and it's shown its age but perhaps that's the charm of the local village pub.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Holly House has a magnificent situation on the seafront at Ravenglass. Sitting outside on a sunny autumn day with a pint in the hand is a very pleasant way of spending ones time. Inside the atmosphere is warm and inviting; the beers are well kept; four real ales on when I called. TheLoweswater Gold was superb. there was a good crowd of locals in. There is aTV in the upper part of the bat, but it is not intrusive.

Great beer, friendly hsopitable hosts and good pub grub; hearty portions for autumn days.

The Holly House tenants are coming to the end of their tenure and the lanlord the Pennington family want it back.

This is a great shame; the village of Ravenglass already has one pub controlled by the Penningtons and what happens to comeptition and variety when one 'company' ends up controlling the whole show - the answer is there isn't any.

The Holly is pretty unique in the fact you can walk in with boots on; or straight off your yacht with waterproofs; it is, at its heart, the village pub. It is very sad to think it will be smothered.

Enjoy the Holly whilst you may. Especially the Loweswater Gold!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CliffordArchaeology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My friend and I are keen motorcyclists and stayed at the Holly House for two nights last week . It's a no frills budget hotel which includes a wonderful cooked breakfast each day . The owners are very friendly and made us feel very welcome . A fine range of local beers and some amazing food at very reasonable prices . Would Definately stay there again !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney25uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Great welcome from landlord locals very friendly,we did not stay here but had a meal and a few beers. If wanting a friendly pub call in.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PAYNELancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Hard to give an axact rating as it sort of falls between ratings. Its right on the seafront at Ravenglass. We didn't stay but went in several times for drinks and once for a meal. The landlord was very cheery and welcoming and stopped to chat. The decor was a bit tired but clean and tidy. The meal we had was good and it was home made (or it really seemed home made) lasagne. Good value and a big helping. Our dog was allowed and welcomed in - a plus for us - the dog is quiet and no bother but lots of places won't allow them in.We would go back and would recommend it for what it is - a good basic pub.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I was greeted by a friendly john @ the door who gave me the key to my room which was basic but everything I needed was provided ,bath, towels, tv, coffee/tea making. worth the money just for the outstanding view over the estuary.Along the road there is higher class hotel at 5x the price without the view.
The bar in the evening was full of chatty locals all were friendly to a total stranger.
I ate a beef curry in the evening bar meal standard.
The drinks choice was great, no wonder they have awards.
A good appetite is needed to do justice to the breakfast.egg,3 rashers of bacon,2cumberland sausage, black pudding, beans,mushrooms plum toms 2 white 1 brown toasts,together a large pot of coffee.If you needed it you could also have,orange juice,cereals.
If you dont like animals then dont go.They have a lovely labrador and a cat.
It is twenty years since i was last in holly house ravenglass this place has not changed apart from the overpriced main st neighbour.

Room Tip: ask for room overlooking the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Great little hotel, we did not stay in the hotel but we ate and drank in the Pub, the food was great all home made and the atmopshere was warm and friendly. Well worth a stop for a spot of lunch

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravenglass hotels
0.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
1.0 mi away
Muncaster Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holly House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holly House Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Holly House Hotel Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing