We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really interesting and varied day out”
Review of Muncaster Castle

Muncaster Castle
Book In Advance
More Info
US$56.97*
and up
The High Adventure: High Mountain Passes Spectacular from Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The historic and reputedly haunted Castle dating from the mediaeval age has been home to the Pennington family for over 800 years. It is a treasury of beautiful art and antiques, collected through the ages by the family who still live there. The Castle sits majestically in over 70 acres of wild, woodland gardens famous for collections of rhododendrons and azaleas set against the stunning backdrop of the Lakeland fells including Scafell Pike, England's highest mountain. The Bird of Prey Centre is well worth a visit with daily displays at 2.30Pm and watch the wild herons come in to feed at Heron Happy Hour at 4pm. The indoor MeadowVole Maze is an entertaining ecological attraction to entertain the young at heart. Playground, cafe, gift shops and an ancient church are all within the gardens. Regular events programme, including festivals, outdoor theatre, historical re-enactors and Halloween Week.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
shipley derbyshire
Level Contributor
349 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“A really interesting and varied day out”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

There is so much to see and do here.The house is fascinating and enhanced by the family living there .You get a real sense of their personality and the audio tour is so different .Quirky and often funny.
The house is not sanitised and the long and rich history shows through.Staff are helpful without being intrusive..
Outside the Owl Centre is excellent and gives a real insight into these amazing birds.We watched the display which was very good .
All this together with lovely gardens makes for a terrific visit.
On leaving the owner Patrick Pennington ,who was pruning a bush ,asked us about how visit and wished us well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lorenzo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    260
    70
    22
    13
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good day out for all ages”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This attraction had something for everyone. A haunted castle set in beautiful gardens with spectacular views, as well as an owl sanctuary with birds of prey display, children's play areas and an indoor meadow maze. Oh and the wild heron feeding in front of the castle at 4pm.
You can either just pay for the grounds and owl sanctuary or for the castle as well, so as we had our dog with us not all went in the castle. You can easily spend a whole day here, so along with our discount voucher (which you can find on their tourist attraction flyers) it seemed quite good value. (It is privately owned so no National Trust or English Heritage free entry.)
The castle was lovely and still inhabited by the owners. Visitors are guided round by audio units with the owners telling you of the history, which gave a nice personal touch.
Would recommend a visit to anyone staying in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rutilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good family day out.”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Visited with daughter and had a voucher for 15% off admission. As we had bought our dog my daughter volunteered to not look around the castle (she isn't a fan of historical properties.
We had great fun looking around the Owl Sanctuary and found it very interesting and also enjoyed the birds of prey display on the castle's terrace.
We had lunch in the castle's cafe in the stablemate. It was'nt particularly cheap but portions were large and the food was lovely.
The castle was beautiful and the free audio wands with the castle owners as guides helped take you from room to room.
For families with children there were lots of play areas as well as an indoor meadow maze.
The grounds were beautiful with fantastic views over the valley.
We finished our visit by watching the heron feeding in front of the castle. It was a splendid sight seeing 11 wild herons appear out of nowhere and watch them up close.
I think this attraction will appear to all ages and would certainly recommend it as a day out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Impressive setting”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was clearly once a great castle and family home in its day. Set in the Cumbrian countryside the views of the surroundings hills and mountains (including Scarfell Pike) are breathtaking, and clearly the gardens have and continue to be much loved. Entrance fee is pretty reasonable think we paid about £11 online and with that amazingly you get free audio guides - however rather sadly the castle has clearly seen better days which is such a shame and the family am guessing would need to get a large injection of cash to do some restoration - as the rooms and their contents look tired and warn. Nevertheless don't be put off by this it's still worth a visit and probably in keeping with 100 years since the start of WW1 there are quite a few nice exhibits and letters in the downstairs room to your left when you enter. As stated before the free audio guide was a nice touch and you're guided round the castle by stories from the family, it's a shame there was a bit of a fault on mine which meant it kept getting stuck half way through so I probably missed some information, and whilst it was nice to hear about the ancestors of the current occupiers I personally would have liked to hear a bit more about why and when it was built etc... Outside of the castle there is a maze (although I didn't venture that way), a good sized children's play area and restaurant facilities and an impressive array of owls, which I believe are shown in the afternoon, although you can still see them all in their enclosures at any time of the day. It took us nearly 2 hours to drive up from Lancaster so if like me you're desperate for the toilet upon arrival don't worry there are some toilets just inside the entrance, following which I was able to enjoy the half mile walk through the gardens and past the duck pond up to the castle.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoJo82992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A good family day out”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We thought the entry was a bit expensive and there is no family ticket available. We did however enjoy seeing the many owls and watching the display. There is only a small part of the castle open but again we all enjoyed looking round. There are plenty of gardens to walk round and sit to eat a picnic.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muncaster Castle also viewed

 

Been to Muncaster Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing