We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family day out.”

Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57.65*
and up
The High Adventure: High Mountain Passes Spectacular from Windermere
More Info
US$18.21*
and up
Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway: Ride All Day Ticket
More Info
US$64.20*
and up
High Adventure Day Tour from Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Reputedly the most beautiful train journey in England, this 15-inch, narrow gauge railway carries passengers along seven miles of scenic track, from the old Roman Port of Ravenglass (the only coastal village in the Lake District National Park) along the Eskdale Valley to Eskdale during a 40 minute ride. Experience the heritage steam engines on a stunning scenic day out.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good family day out.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a good family day out for all, from grandparents down to tots. This brings the child out in all of us. One of the best and longest narrow-gauge steam trip taken.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank stenning15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    797
    282
    54
    19
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely day out.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Took a ride on the railway as part of a day out from the Caravan Club site at Park Coppice in Coniston. A drive through beautiful Eskdale, ride on the delightful Ravenglass and Eskdale railway, beer and pub lunch in Ravenglass (Old Ratty), ice cream in the sun in Ravenglass, then back on the little train for the ride back up to Eskdale - perfect day out. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RPD22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Steam Train journey”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This journey is a lovely 45 minute ride through the countryside, giving you plenty of time to appreciate the sheer beauty of the Lake District. There are plenty of wonderful walks to take and also a really nice cafe serving very good food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Colinwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Cyclists beware ”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely trip on the train as a group of 6 with all our bicycles in the carriage to cycle back on the "fully way-marked route" that is "suitable for all ages". Absolute rubbish, the track is not sign posted, nothing from Delgarth,most of our group were experienced mountain bikers and our bikes were fine but the trail is rough and muddy in places. The trail has a steep climb that would result in a push up for all but fitter riders and then deposits you on a busy A road for a mile or so of cycling on a road. Could be great but no good for families with young children and, to be honest, isn't this the type of visitor for a steam train. We left 4 of our party a few miles away as 2 of us cycled back on the busy road to collect the car.
To be fair to them they have amended their website since I called in and shared my concerns - I can only imagine none of them are cyclists and they have never ridden it themselves. If you do cycle just visit Whinlatter or Grizedale and leave the bikes at home if you want to visit this railway.

Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ormskirk
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Return trip after 20 yrs - not disappointed !”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Last rode on this delightful train with our son over 20yrs ago. The cafes and track plus the staff were all dedicated to ensure the visitor had an excellent experience. Really delighted with our time spent at the attraction and will return next year !!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SkyOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway also viewed

Ravenglass, Lake District
Glenridding, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Ravenglass and Eskdale Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing