We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”

The Pennington Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Restaurants in Ravenglass
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The hotel itself is listed already, but the restaurant that is part of this hotel is not listed separately.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hotel was lovely with gorgeous views from room over the estuary. Room was spacious, modern and had a large bathroom. Breakfast was lovely and staff very friendly I would recommend this hotel to anyone we were there 2 nights for a wedding at nearby Muncaster Castle and this hotel is perfect for relaxing or touring around the area and would definately stay there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank angela f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    64
    30
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Lovely meal, nice staff. Very clean, considering staying there as it was so nice. Try the goats cheese and beef.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lmarsh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch venue”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We visited Ravenglass to see the site of the Roman Baths and the little railway 'L'al Ratty'. the village has a lovely setting on the estuary, and is really just one street of picturesque cottages.We were pleased to stop at The Pennington Hotel for a late lunch.We had soft drinks and burgers with little buckets of french fries. It was all nicely presented and tasty, and the surroundings (we ate in the bar at the rear of the place) were nicely decorated, clean and cosy, and the staff helpful and pleasant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Treasure found in Ravenglass”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

First of all I would like to point out this is my first review on trip advisor but I feel it is needed. We ate here on Saturday 22nd February and what a treat it was. The hotel seemed busy but the atmosphere felt good as soon as we walked in and after being told there might be a delay with the food we settled with a drink while we waited. After no time at all we were seated and the food was here. Credit to the chefs as the venison looked a picture on the plate & was cooked to my exact liking. its good to see variation on the menu & its good that the chef wants to set his standard above everywhere else in the area. The two waitresses & young gentleman are also a credit to the hotel they looked after us superbly. Next time we are in the area we will defiantly be back. The only suggestion I could make to improve the hotel would be to maybe advertise it more as if we weren't in Ravenglass we wouldn't of known it was there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steven w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Stuck in the 90's?”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I'm constantly bemused why hotel owners want to 'modernise' their buildings and remove all sense of the original charm or history or decor of the building. I'd guess the Pennington last had a refurb in the 90's and it shows unfortunately. Bad furniture and fabrics when it could be so good. The staff were lovely, the menu was decent, the food was good but I have to say the prices are too high. For £50 for a Valentine tasting menu it's more than you would spend in a Michelin starred venue for their own taster and for that price you'd expect all the 'little' extras. It didn't feel special enough to pay that price so we opted a la carte. The soup entree arrived without bread. Then when bread arrived it came with no butter. Then the mussels had a finger bowl but no side bowl for the empty mussels. You don't expect such small but important items to be missing when you are paying £80 for dinner for two. The Pennington could be fabulous but I'm afraid it was average and over priced.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmelineLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pennington Hotel also viewed

Ravenglass, Lake District
Ravenglass, Lake District
 
Ravenglass, Lake District
Ravenglass, Lake District
 

Been to The Pennington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing