We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Staff”
Review of The Pennington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pennington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenglass
Certificate of Excellence
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We were made to feel most welcome upon our arrival, check in was straightforward and we were shown to a lovely room with an excellent view of the estuary.

General impressions were of a recently refurbished, clean and very well decorated hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.

We enjoyed a seafood platter lunch shared between two which was very fresh and great value.

The dinner menu was interesting & varied and, as expected of a seaside location, included a number of fish dishes as well as vegetarian options.

The Pennington has been added to our list of places that we will definitely return to. An excellent and friendly hotel.

Room Tip: If it's available... The Bridal Suite has a superb view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyPathfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craig l, General Manager at The Pennington, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review about our hotel and I agree, we have a wonderful team and it makes us incredibly proud when our guests receive great service.

Thank you and we hope you can return soon

Craig Lowery
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    106
    22
    15
    6
See reviews for
72
190
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

Working away from home for a week isn't so bad if the hotel you're in is as good as The Pennington. Nothing was too much trouble - our early breakfasts, food requests, even splitting the bill in strange and wonderful ways.

The staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms spacious and well equipped. They also have a reliable wifi connection which, when you're away from home with little or no phone signal, is absolutely invaluable.

An earlier review used the word 'effortless' to describe their stay and I wholly agree. And a special mention must go to Debs (the Manageress) who personified the effortless ethos - many many thanks for an easy, enjoyable week.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thehorsemanshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Came here several years ago but what a difference now! Some serious money has been spent on the refurb but what has emerged is a lovely, comfortable upmarket pub with decent food to match. We only had a variation on sandwiches and bangers and mash but were all happy with our lot. The prices were reasonable and the real ale choices were acceptable. Being in Ravenglass, they aren't going to get much passing trade but it would be worth a small detour.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CumbrianFellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Of all the hotels I've stayed in in Cumbria this is by far the best. The staff are always friendly and accommodating and deal effortlessly with requests such as late arrivals and early breakfasts.

There are also superb walks from the hotel, for example along the estuary and up through Muncaster Castle and to wake up to the sound of Oystercatchers on the nearby estuary makes my day. Free fast WIFI is also a bonus.

All the rooms have been recently updated and are of much better quality than any other hotel I've used in the area. The only downside is that it can get busy so I don't always get to stay there!

Room Tip: Room 3 is spacious and ground floor but I've never had a bad room to date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitvar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Booked two nights on line for £260.00 standard double, dinner, B & B which semed a good deal?
Requested a quite room with estuary view. Allocated room 3 0n the ground floor which gave both but was let down badly due poor house keeping with a broken window blind, blocked hand basin, mirror shaver light not working and the bath drain plug broken.
Food in the restuarant was excellent with friendy staff. On the second night pre booked table was delayed by 45 mins due to a booked party of 11. Food however was not delayed and the staff worked hard under some pressure.
Weekend was let down when checking out with a bill for £341.00! explained at first as drinks, then as a double restuarant charge. Ended up with a £55.00 credit which was still a overcharge as we only charged a £15.00 bottle of red wine to our room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hope Valley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Booked with our friends on a KGB deal. What a good deal it was. Very clean, beautifully decorated and spacious rooms. We ate in the bar rather than the restuarant and the meals were excellent and reasonably priced. The staff were friendly and helpful and we would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayandlyn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Have just returned from a 2 night stay and were made to feel very welcome. The big surprise was that although we were on a KGB deal( bought for us by our children as a Christmas present) we had been allocated the bridal suite. We had requested estuary views and were not dissapointed . All staff were very pleasant and helpful and offered to carry our bags upstairs.We had booked a table in the restaurant on our second night and arrived to be given the menu which was a four course set deal. We did explain that we never ate more than 2 courses or at most 3 if pushed. This was not a problem and we chose from the menu and the dishes were individually charged for. The bedroom was excellently prepared, clean and comfortable and the bathroom with both bath and shower cubicle was enormous.We enjoyed our stay so much that we have booked to return for 2 nights between Xmas and New Year.

Room Tip: not telling, in case you want to book at the same time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
18.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
149 reviews
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
4.4 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pennington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pennington

Property: The Pennington
Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pennington 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Pennington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pennington Hotel Ravenglass
Pennington Hotel Ravenglass
The Pennington Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing