We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend Break”
Review of The Pennington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pennington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenglass
Certificate of Excellence
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Weekend Break”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at the Pennington as a couple for a 3 night break in February in room 18 which was immaculate, very cosy with lots of space, an amazing view from the window and a huge modern bathroom! We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay and could not find fault with anything about our stay, only that it wasn’t long enough!

The hotel itself is very well presented, the lounge, bar area and dining room were all lovely, very relaxed and with a good atmosphere. The whole hotel was kept so clean and tidy and upon returning back to our room each afternoon we found it spotlessly clean with fresh supplies of tea and coffee and clean towels.

We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was outstanding. There was a good choice on the menu with daily specials available, accompanied by an extensive wine list.

I stuck to the sea food and had a Scallop starter & a Seabass main which were both cooked to perfection! My husband had the Goats Cheese for a starter and Venison for his main which were both delicious. Equally the desserts were good, the lemon meringue was exceptional and the bread and butter pudding very good too!

The breakfast was also of a very high standard with a good choice of cereals, fresh croissants, fresh fruit and yogurts, which you could help yourself to. There was also a large selection of cooked options available, much more than other hotels we have stayed in. The full cooked breakfast was huge with delicious home made black pudding which was exceptional. All the staff were very friendly and couldn’t do enough for us and all found the time to have a chat and ask if everything was to our satisfaction.

All in all we would not hesitate to recommend staying at this hotel. The Pennington has some very talented chefs who obviously take pride in the food they prepare teamed with exceptional front of house staff.

Room Tip: Room No 18 was very spacious & comfy with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    106
    22
    15
    6
See reviews for
72
190
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

What a lovely hotel and fantastic staff. I can honestly say I have never stayed anywhere with nicer staff. They were so friendly and helpful even posted my sons teddy bear back to us that we did not know we had left behind. The room was so well equipped, better than some 5 stars that I have stayed in and the food was excellent. The family room was great having a separate bedroom. A real hidden gem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Our whole family spent two nights at this hotel for our sons Wedding at the near by Muncaster Castle.
From the moment we first looked at/booked the hotel we were shown around by Nathan, the Duty Manager and we were made so welcome and impressed with the accommadation, as were all the family that stayed there.
Upon arrival at the Hotel the staff were very courteous, friendly, accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The food in the evening was very good and all requests were catered for. Bryonie looked after us so well and worked very hard the whole weekend and was joined by Rebecca in the evening of the Wedding to help with the bar sevice,
The whole team at the Pennington and Muncaster Castle made it a very memorable occasion and we would just like to thank everyone involved.
We hope to return and will definateley recommend. (If you will have us !!!!)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LomasKeswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel is not flash from the outside or fancy with it's website but it was an absolute treat! Very modern room with everything you could need! Excellent wifi, big room, luxury toiletries, nice in-room tea & coffee! Nice bar restaurant too with accommodating staff!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tartan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Fantastic food (and we mean FANTASTIC), a really special team of staff topped off with great accommodation is just what we needed to welcome 2014 in great style and make us very happy people! The Pennington family of Muncaster Castle have restored this old hotel with tasteful, contemporary character and the place just oozes 'welcome' and warmth. From the moment we arrived we felt totally at home - the dog-friendly room was perfect (and didn't smell at all 'doggy') and our rascal of a terrier as no problem at all. So, thank you to Jane, Kate and everyone at The Pennington in Ravenglass for a great New Year's Eve....we're about to book for next year!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My first visit to the Pennington was, simply for a cup of coffee but having seen the menu we stayed for dinner. I found the menu problematic in that I just wanted to try it all! The fact that its mostly produce from their own estate just made it more difficult. Having sampled the menu I just had to return and stay there. Friendly, welcoming and helpful. Loved it. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel is owned and managed by the same family that own the nearby castle, a popular wedding venue and the reason we were in Ravenglass. As a result it is perfectly located for easy access to the castle and the facilities are good. For those making the journey by train, it is a very short walk to the station.

While the food is good, the service leaves a little to be desired. Because the hotel is relatively quiet during the day one can sit in the bar for some time before being served as there is not always a member of staff in the bar.

The rooms are very nice and the housekeeping staff attentive and very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
18.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
Lutwidge Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Holmrook
149 reviews
20.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
351 reviews
4.4 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
21.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pennington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pennington

Property: The Pennington
Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pennington 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Pennington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pennington Hotel Ravenglass
Pennington Hotel Ravenglass
The Pennington Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing