We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In search of peace and quiet.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pennington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Pennington
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenglass
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“In search of peace and quiet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Wonderful Hotel in a remarkable location. Very friendly and efficient staff, room was modern, spacious, very clean and best of all had an amazing view. Food was excellent. We went in search of some peace and quiet and found it although there is plenty to do in the area if required. Highly recommend .

Room Tip: We stayed in room 18 which has an excellent view of the estuary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 999kermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    105
    19
    13
    6
See reviews for
70
185
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I have stayed at the Pennington hotel numerous times whilst working in Cumbria. The rooms are always clean and the hotel well turned out. I normally avoid eating at any hotel I'm staying at, however I do have at least one meal when at the Pennington. The staff really make the difference (Bryonie and Lorna are especially helpful). Treat yourself to a drink and sit outside and enjoy the peaceful views. It's very good for the blood pressure :)

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhysyjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We've now been to this hotel twice as a family and had a superb stay each time. I also stay frequently here on business and have always found it a very good place to stay. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food is good, the location is excellent.

The best thing for us, a family with three children, is the family rooms. There are two but we always go for room 19 which is right at the top of the hotel and has the most wonderful view across the estuary. There is also a second room (room 5) which is of similar size but has no view. They are in fact suites, not just rooms as each has two rooms and a bathroom or shower room. Each has a double bed in the main room and then two singles in the second room but they are able to squeeze a third fold down bed in with out too much problem. Our children love it and treat it as a big adventure. We have had several pleasant evenings watching the sun set over the estuary and with the children happily asleep in their own room.

You can eat in either the bar or restaurant and both are very good. Food can be served all day. Never had a bad meal here.

Wi-Fi is free but is a bit erratic in some rooms.

Ravenglass itself is very small but there is enough variety for a good short break. The Ravenglass and Eskdale railway starts just a two minute walk away, Muncaster Castle is a mile away, the Roman bath house can be visited by a short walk through the woods and there is always beachcombing in the estuary. There is also a small playground in the village, a good tea shop and a couple of other pubs. However, there is only a tiny post office with limited stock. You need to drive a bit to find a shop.

Room Tip: Only a few rooms have an estuary view. Room 7 is the best double with a view. Room 19, the big fami...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B38Bass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

A very clean well run hotel. Check in was efficient and the room was up some stairs but there was an offer to take the case up which would be appreciated by less able guests. The room was good and spotless. The bar area was comfortable and the restaurant looked fine although we never ate there on this visit. Car parking is at the back of the hotel. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice on a good table menu. I can not fault the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had lovely stay here, we stayed in the family room at the top as we have 2 kids and a dog.
There are quite a few flights of stairs to climb but it was worth it for the stunning views of the estuary. The breakfast was very good and set us up for the day, the service was excellent.
The room was very spacious and clean, the only negative would be that there was only a shower and no bath (but that's being picky).
I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a quiet stay in a lovely part of Cumbria.

ps beware of the low beams in the family room...ouchy.

Room Tip: There is a family room is on the top floor but beware of the low beams !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sutcliffe_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Really friendly staff, very willing to help. We came in at around 10pm after being caught in the storm, and the staff made us some soup an sandwiches to warm up, even though the kitchen had closed! The hotel is very clean and cute, and we had a really filling breakfast this morning. Thank you for making us feel so welcome!

Definitely recommend staying here!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Selenealexia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Pennington family seem to own or have owned everything around Ravenglass, from the local castle Muncaster (very worth seeing) to this and most of the other hotels.

My family and I had a week's holiday there in July and generally enjoyed it. The hotel is very dog-friendly and we managed to get a family room - basically a large double with two Z-beds wedged in the corner at a very good rate. Not spotless, but pretty good cleaning. The owners weren't much in evidence but the young team of staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

The breakfast is one of the better ones, with excellent local sausages and bacon. Evening meals cover a fairly small range of both bar meals and haute cuisine. Bizarre though it may sound, the former were as good as the latter, notably an excellent and humongous fish and chips at £11.95. The posher dishes were more hit and miss; my son, for instance, had a lamb choice three times and it was superb twice and barely edible the third time. On a half-board rate, though, it takes some beating. If you are going for two courses, have the desserts (all excellent) rather than the even more hit and miss starters, other than the sublime gin and beetroot-cured salmon with horseradish crème fraiche and lime jelly, which sounds bonkers but works very well indeed.

A few caveats. Few stay here as long as we did and there are some downsides. A limited menu means you are likely to repeat some things, especially if, as in our week there, the head chef is away and the specials menu doesn't change. That was a pity, since the one that was on - pan-fried cod with samphire and crayfish butter - was the best thing on the menu. One lunchtime, incidentally, we had a tomato and pepper soup at the café next door for lunch and joked that that would probably be the new soup of the day at the Pennington Er, it was. And the tape of sappy power ballads never, ever varied. I swear if I hear Alison Moyet telling us she goes weak, she goes weak, she goes weak one more time, I will hang myself.

Ravenglass itself is not a beach resort but is the closest to it in the Lake District. You are facing West across an estuary to fine sunsets; the beach is accessible with care by wading to it at low tide. I assume it's safe as the tide is not high but note that this is an extension of Morecambe Bay. Outside the few hotels there is nothing happening. The local Post Office is surely the model for the local shop for local people in League of Gentlemen - has to be seen to be believed. The village gets a fair amount of passing traffic as the starting point of a steam railway to Eskdale (highly recommended) but that's about it. Which is reflected in the price, because compared to the towns at the heart of the Lake District, it is a steal. It's also a hard 80-minute drive to the Lakes, though, so be warned.

Room Tip: 21 is the only family room to the best of my knowledge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
20.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
18.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.4 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
19.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pennington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pennington

Property: The Pennington
Address: Main Street, Ravenglass CA18 1SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pennington 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Pennington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pennington Hotel Ravenglass
Pennington Hotel Ravenglass
The Pennington Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing