We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cumbrian Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muncaster Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed at the guest house whilst attending family wedding at Muncaster Castle.The property ( an old school ) has been modernised to a good standard and is very comfortable.The hosts are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The location is ideal and although on the main road,the rooms are very quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGBman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during the August summer holidays. We booked the annex, which had its own entrance from the car park, and a kitchen area. The room itself was a good size, with modern furnishings.
The owners were really friendly and welcoming, and always on hand with a suggestion regarding the local area and places to visit or eat. They also have a cosy lounge area with Sky TV, wifi access, and an honesty drinks bar.

The breakfast was a treat - compliments to the chef(s) for delicious food, which kept us going on our hikes around the Lakes!

I do not have a single negative comment about this guest house. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteKat2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Excellent stay in very clean and comfortable room - very friendly and welcoming. Probably the best breakfast to be found in the West Lakes. Would highly recommend as it provides very good overall value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve10954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I only stayed for two nights at this excellent hotel whilst visiting friends but the room and bathroom combined with a friendly atmosphere were second to none! Breakfast was fantastic and fuelled me up for the rest of the days walking. A fabulous family run place to stay!
Spenny. Peterborough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Had a 2 night stay so we could do some walking in the area. The welcome was extremely friendly and the rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The atmosphere was sociable and the whole place was run on a welcoming and trusting basis - very refreshing!
Breakfast was excellent - enough to set anyone up for the day.
Good value for money; we would certainly go back. What more can I say? Good luck to the owners - they deserve success.

Room Tip: Go for en-suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiketheTyke_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Warm welcome. Booked in for one night only, visiting family in the area. Wished we stayed longer though. Our room was perfect, clean, comfortable bed, the bathroom looked brand new, very modern.....The lounge was very welcoming with log fire and comfortable furnishings.
Breakfast was gorgeous, all made from local produce. Opposite Muncaster Castle, near Ravenglass, La'al Ratty and Wasdale.
Vin & Sue were very friendly and knowledgable about the area and places to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mw55-57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

myself my friend and our 2 children stayed here for halloween I have to say it was brilliant.
the magician was 5 star so was the food and all other attractions.
the staff are amazing,the day we were due to leave,the gift-shop didn't open until 10-30 am, however we planned to leave at 10. so we asked a member of staff if there were any shops near and she said "there is, but there arounnd 15 minutes away, give me 2 minutes and I'll get the keys and open up shop for you!"
we also went on the ghost tour, I won't spoil it for you, but i will say some aspects are TERRIFYING!!! The shop is slightly over-priced (but that is to be expected!)
At around 8:30we went up to the lounge and played the board games provided and had a ]laugh!!!
I highly recomend that you stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lozza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravenglass hotels
0.9 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
176 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Show Prices

Been to Muncaster Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muncaster Country Guest House

Address: Muncaster, Ravenglass CA18 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range: £29 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muncaster Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tastefully and sympathetically converted schoolhouse providing 8 ground floor bedrooms. Ample secure parking for 15 cars is provided. Most rooms en suite with TVs, hairdriers and tea or coffee making facilities. Free WiFi. Evening meals by arrangement. Licenced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Muncaster Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muncaster Country Guest House Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing