We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muncaster Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Excellent B&B, a real home from home. Rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious. Breakfast is a real treat , always a pleasure staying here with excellent hosts who go that extra mile to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
69
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here few years ago to attend a wedding at the castle and thoroughly enjoyed it. We returned this year and were not disappointed . Excellent accommodation ,very clean and comfy. Friendly owners and first class breakfast , a real home from home.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryP907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed for one night as we attended a wedding at nearby Muncaster Castle. This is a really nice place to stay, our room was a good size and absolutely spotless and the en-suite was great with a big shower and very nice toiletries. Breakfast was delicious and very filling! The owner went above and beyond by giving us a lift to the Castle which meant we didn't have to walk in the terrible conditions (snow and ice). I would recommend this guest house highly and will certainly stay again if we go back to the region.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fras99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a wedding at Muncaster Castle and following quite a hairy journey in the snow, were greeted with smiles and friendly faces along with a lovely warm lounge area/reception. Our room was stylish, comfortable and very clean with beautiful views of the hills behind the guest house. With free wifi and access to a landline phone (no charge) to contact local and national numbers it didn't really affect our stay that we had no mobile phone range (synonymous with the area, not just the guest house!) A very comfy, warm bed was definitely needed following our trek through the snow back from the Castle and that's exactly what we got. Great night's sleep followed by a truly scrumptious breakfast (I need to know who supplies the black pudding, I've only tasted similar in the Scottish highlands!) Fresh bread, delicious eggs (cooked any way we asked) and good quality bacon and sausages were layed on and even a bacon and sausage sandwich to go as my husband (a little tender from the previous night) had not managed to make it for breakfast before we set off back home at 9.30am. All in all a really pleasant stay. Highly recommended for the facilities and location, which is really central to all the local tourist attractions/villages/walks. Thank you very much Sue and Vin! We'll definitely be back to visit during the summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Roberts_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Really had a great time here, room was lovely, clean and comfy.Breakfast was delicious. lovely having a huge lounge to sit in in the evening and to have the kitchen where you can prepare everything from cup of tea to a full meal. we didn't want to go out one evening so we just had some snacks,sandwiches etc. made them in kitchen and ate them in lounge watching tv, just like home. one of the amazing things about this stay was the grounds, we walked in all the gardens and it was beautiful and seeing the wonderful owls. go back any day.

Room Tip: as there only a few rooms all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poppycat39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Great room and excellent breakfast made from local produce would be enough reason for staying here. Bonus was the residents lounge with very well stocked honesty bar. Our impression that the attentive and friendly hosts had thought of everything that most travellers would have wanted.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We arrived on a very wet Saturday afternoon, with a friendly greeting, shown to our room and a nice hot pot of tea awaiting in the lounge area with a roaring fire for when we were ready. The room was spotless, decor modern the en-suite excellent nothing to fault. The honesty bar is a great idea for sitting at night, the breakfast was just superb. The choice of cereals, fruit, juices and fresh local bread brilliant. Cooked breakfast amazing. We will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
1.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
347 reviews
4.6 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
4.6 mi away
Gosforth Hall Inn
Gosforth Hall Inn
#2 of 2 in Gosforth
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
1.0 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muncaster Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muncaster Country Guest House

Property: Muncaster Country Guest House
Address: Muncaster, Ravenglass CA18 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Muncaster Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tastefully and sympathetically converted schoolhouse providing 8 ground floor bedrooms. Ample secure parking for 15 cars is provided. Most rooms en suite with TVs, hairdriers and tea or coffee making facilities. Free WiFi. Evening meals by arrangement. Licenced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Muncaster Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muncaster Country Guest House Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing