We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend for your visit for South Lake District”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muncaster Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Have just departed from this B and B after 2 nights while attending a family wedding at Muncaster Castle across the road. This converted schoolhouse is a great place to stay both for the castle and its owl collection or to explore the Southern Lakes and Coast.
Our hosts were delightful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The lounge boasts the most comfortable high-backed sofas and a glorious log burner. While I went out walking, my wife curled up on a sofa in front of the fire and our hosts plied her with cups of tea without her having to ask.
Great bedroom, shower and duvet just right.
Breakfast was very good and included crumpet and fruit bread options, which is unusual.
There is an honesty bar that is well-stocked and Sky-TV in the lounge, although the current ashes performance put both myself and my host off watching late into the night.
All-in-all highly recommended. If I am back this way again, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpiggyMason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stayed here several times during the last years - and I'd always come back!!!! A very welcoming atmosphere, very good food, beautiful rooms... even muddy boots and wet stinky coats are now problem! It felt so good to come to the guest house totaly wet after a whole day in the rain - having a shower before sitting in front of the fireplace having a coffee. Thanks for everything Sue and Vin!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I stayed one night in this guest house as I was attending a wedding party at Muncaster Castle and I wish I could have stayed longer. The owners are very nice. The bedrooms are spacious, and tastefully decorated and the beds are very comfy. They have a lovely lounge with an honesty bar, a tv and lots of boardgames. The breakfast was divine and the service during breakfast superb. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, its romantic for couples, quiet if you prefer to spend some time alone and for families I am sure children would love it too. Its location is perfect for walkers and of course people attending events at the castle. I would love to go back at Christmas time. Thanks again for a brief but lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FIshfacefingerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have family who live in the area so I know it well, but this was the first time that I'd stayed at the Country Guest House and I can thoroughly recommend the experience. I was in a separate annexe, with plenty of self-catering utilities and a Freeview TV service; for full access to satellite TV I was able to use the residents' lounge with its honesty bar - a refreshing touch in such a untrusting age.

The room was warm and welcoming, the service was friendly and attentive and the breakfasts were more than sufficient; even though the weather was wet the spirits were high. There is free wi-fi internet access - when I stayed this didn't reach to my annexe but there was no problem with access from the lounge. I didn't have dinner in the guest house, but if the breakfasts are anything to go by I'm sure that'll be high quality too. Overall an experience I'll be happy to repeat in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlBuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights whilst horse riding nearby. After a day on the wet and windy fells the warm and comfortable visitors lounge with its log burner was very welcoming. Room 5 was large and beautifully fitted out, especially en-suite. Hosts very friendly and helpful and breakfasts excellent. Although a little off the main Lake District there is plenty to do nearby. Be warned - hardly any mobile reception in guest house although you can use landline free of charge. Great to have a real break away from demands of work and family! We would definitely recommend this guest house to all our friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back enable you to see some interesting birds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Loved our stay. Everything was perfect don't hesitate to book this Guest House. The rooms are very spacious and spotless with nice décor. A lovely cosy lounge and the dining room over looks the gardens. Excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here for a wedding in the nearby castle with some friends. Beautiful old school building, which is more like a cottage. Fantastic lounge area. All warm with log fire. Breakfasts were hearty and plenty of food! Free wifi, sky tv in lounge. Would come again!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ravenglass hotels
0.9 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
367 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rosegarth Guest House
Rosegarth Guest House
#1 of 5 in Ravenglass
176 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
Show Prices

Been to Muncaster Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muncaster Country Guest House

Address: Muncaster, Ravenglass CA18 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range: £29 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tastefully and sympathetically converted schoolhouse providing 8 ground floor bedrooms. Ample secure parking for 15 cars is provided. Most rooms en suite with TVs, hairdriers and tea or coffee making facilities. Free WiFi. Evening meals by arrangement. Licenced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Muncaster Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muncaster Country Guest House Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing