We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muncaster Country Guest House
Ranked #3 of 5 Ravenglass B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tewkesbury Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent choice”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have just returned from our 4 night stay in the annexe room, what an excellent choice. After looking at many of the pubs, hotels and inns in the area, decided to try this guest house as the reviews were very good along with the price. We were not disappointed, the annexe room had a small kitchenette, a lovely comfortable bed and very nice bathroom, extremely clean and comfortable in deed. The owners are so friendly and make you really feel at home. Every morning started with an excellent breakfast, cooked to order. The guest house is in a perfect position, we walked into Ravensglass one evening, its almost right opposite Muncaster Castle gates and the start of Scafell Pike is only 20 mins away by car, along the beautiful road to Wasdale Head, which follows the edge of Wastwater, an absolutely stunning place. We were greeted with a lovely pot of coffee on arrival, in the lounge and there is also the option of a meal from Monday to Thursday, if you so wish, but this wasn't thrust upon you at all, the option is just there if you need it. All in all an excellent choice for our break in the Lake District.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birthday-Girl-2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
69
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for the Easter Bank Holiday weekend.

Really friendly and welcoming owners. Stayed in the apartment which had its own little kitchen. Only here for a few days so we ate out, but it had everything you could need even for a longer stay.

Great location with good parking. Room and bathroom nice and clean and a good size. Had a great view of the garden, woodpecker right outside the window.

Honesty bar is a nice touch, and well stocked. Breakfast great, tasty and and lots to choose from.

A great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shifu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Clean and smart large bedroom with decent bathroom which included a spacious and deep bath. Gorgeous fresh and tasty breakfast each morning- cooked perfectly to order. Hosts were very friendly and attentive- even posting me my nightie back as I d left it behind! Fantastic location very close to Wastwater which was Amazing!!! Very welcoming lounge room and a pot of tea upon arrival .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on the May bank holiday and had an excellent time/experience. Rooms were lovely and clean. The real highlight of our stay was the breakfast. Perfectly cooked and a good choice. Cereal, full English, crumpets, fruit etc. The owners were very helpful and even printed us out a map for our days walking up Scafell pike which was a great help to us. So a great place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RYanKate25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here during the Easter weekend as it was a great location for hiking each day; Scafell Pike, Helvellyn etc. The owners were very accommodating and friendly! The guesthouse had a wonderful atmosphere. The breakfast is delicious; English breakfast with local ingredients. They also recommended restaurants and pubs around the area. Will definitely stay here again when visiting the Lake District

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancaster
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent position for our one night stay. Car park is opposite so we just left the car at the guest house. Hosts could not have been more friendly and helpful. Made us a cafetiere coffee on arrival. Very comfy sofas in tne lounge with log fire. Courtesy bar very useful. Huge room, had an extra single bed along with tne king sizr bed. Very clean. Modern bathroom shower and tub . Courtesy hot drink tray in room. Plasma tv. Excellent breakfast. Really enjoyed the variety on offer and the black pudding from Scotland. Birds pecking on tne tree outside our window .free Wifi available. No phone recption on vodafone , didn't miss it! , but you can make calls on their phone should you need to . Sue does some evening meals midweek but it was Easter and we went down for a fish dinner she recommended at The Inn at Ravenglass . Also very good

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nirvana90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just returned from a lovely 3 night stay, everything lovely. Bedroom (room 2) massive family room with only 2 of us using it. Very clean, lovely breakfast and lots of it, lovely hosts, sat with them in their lounge to have a drink on return from night out, lovely couple. Would recommend it, plenty of places to visit nearby as well. Lovely walk in the wind and rain at wastwater Sunday blowing a gale and raining but refreshing, beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lmarsh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ravenglass
1.0 mi away
The Pennington
The Pennington
#1 of 1 in Ravenglass
350 reviews
12.6 mi away
Seacote Hotel
Seacote Hotel
#3 of 3 in St Bees
433 reviews
4.6 mi away
Westlakes Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Sella Park Country House Hotel
Sella Park Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Calder Bridge
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muncaster's Coachman's Quarters
1.0 mi away
The Bay Horse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muncaster Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muncaster Country Guest House

Property: Muncaster Country Guest House
Address: Muncaster, Ravenglass CA18 1RD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ravenglass
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ravenglass
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Muncaster Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tastefully and sympathetically converted schoolhouse providing 8 ground floor bedrooms. Ample secure parking for 15 cars is provided. Most rooms en suite with TVs, hairdriers and tea or coffee making facilities. Free WiFi. Evening meals by arrangement. Licenced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Muncaster Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muncaster Country Guest House Ravenglass, Cumbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing