We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Scales
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Scales Farm Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Scales B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

A superb B and B in every way. We had a downstairs room so we had easy access to the outside with the dog . This was great as we didn't have to disturb others should he want to go out during the night [ didn't have to but take a torch ]. A double door meant there was no noise from the main road. The room was small but the hosts had thought of everything. Thick , fluffy towels , tea and coffee but with fresh milk as there is a fridge to keep it in [ can't stand uht ] , a range of walking guides in the room and maps in the lounge , a tray to put your muddy boots in . These are a few of the small touches that make this B and B great. There was a range of cereals , jams , yogurts and lovely fresh fruit salad for breakfast as well as a cooked breakfast choice.
Helen , Ivan and Richard were perfect hosts and we were made to feel at home as soon as we arrived.

Room Tip: Our room , room 2, was small and very dark as there was only a smallish window which looked out onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bianca89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit to Scales farm and the 2nd time we brought our dog.
I cannot recommend this place enough, a watm welcome from the owners , aling with lovely cuppa and home made cake. The room was great, very peaceful, easy access to the field for the dog. Spotlessly clean and all that you need.
The breakfast was lovely. A nice buffet and I had the veggie option cooked break fast whivh was so tasty. My husband had the full English, which he thoroughly enjoyed.
Can't wait for our next visit.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here for one night as a way to add a few more miles into the first day of a C2C bike ride.
The accommodation is excellent with really comfortable beds and very nice rooms.
Secure place for bike storage overnight is a welcome bonus.
No evening meals available, but with the pub next door serving our party of ten with a superb meal this isn't really going to be an issue.
For those who prefer feet to wheels, Blencathra is literally outside the back door, in fact the bike shed seemed to be half way up!
Overall, I was very impressed and will certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backofthepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This has to be one of the best B&B's I have ever stayed in, with everything outstanding, from the friendly welcome with cups of tea and plate of home made cakes, to the awesome choices at breakfast, better than many 4 or 5 start hotels !
Helen seems to be the driving force behind this B&B, and is a fount of information, advice and cheerful energy. Rooms are comfortable, spotlessly clean and recently renovated and nothing is too much trouble, and there are great. Views across the Lakeland fells, brilliant all round !

Room Tip: Avoid room 1 if you are a light sleeper as thee is a skylight-window over the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our second stay here. It's the little extra touches and attention to detail that make the difference, and what made us come back. It's great value too.

The owners do their best to make sure your stay is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.We were warmly welcomed with tea, and delicious home made cake and biscuits on arrival. We really appreciated the efforts made to accommodate us and our 10 month old twins. I loved the fact that we were provided with whole milk and children's cutlery at breakfast: just one of the little touches that reflect the thought that is given to accommodating guests.

Before children we used the guest house as a great base for walking and exploring the area. Our stay this time was rather more staid, but no less enjoyable.

We were able to park right next to the family room downstairs, which was great for unloading all the child related paraphernalia. It's also a fantastic room for anyone who needs accessible accommodation.

We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Previous stays brilliant and now the rooms are refurbished to an even higher standard. Fabulous location, service, hosts and the best cake you'll ever eat! Nothing is too much trouble for Helen, Ivan and Richard and tea and cake is always on offer when you come back from a fab day out on the fells or a stroll around Keswick. Advice is freely given and they have a great selection of books and maps. They even have discounted boat tickets for Derwentwater and will book pub meals and taxis if need be. You won't find better b&b in this part of the world, best I've found in 35 years of Lakeland visits.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandLynn2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

6 of us had entered the Bencathra Challenge on Saturday 24th May and the early start made a two night stay at Scales the best option. We were given a warm welcome with assorted teas / coffees/ decaf / normal.... And we settled ourselves in the lounge with drinks and snacks . Our request for an early breakfast was no problem either..... 18 miles later the hot showers and baths were wonderful .... There are lots of nice extras .... Fresh milk in the rooms... Reasonably priced cans of pop.... Fluffy towels. We enjoyed the breakfast the next morning even more... Plenty of coffee, toast and top ups. Ivan, Sue and Richard are brilliant hosts ... Nothing is a problem and the rooms are reasonably priced. Highly recommended by us all .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraGTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scales
4.2 mi away
The Whitbarrow Hotel
The Whitbarrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrier
350 reviews
7.6 mi away
Overwater Hall
Overwater Hall
#1 of 1 in Ireby
535 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ravenstone Manor
Ravenstone Manor
#2 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
Armathwaite Hall Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
1,638 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
623 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
Ravenstone Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bassenthwaite
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scales Farm Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scales Farm Country Guest House

Property: Scales Farm Country Guest House
Address: just off the A66, Scales, Keswick CA12 4SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick > Scales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Scales
Hotel Class:4 star — Scales Farm Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing