We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“regular visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moorcock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorcock Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Sedbergh B&B and Inns
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“regular visitors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I have just returned from approximately my 10th trip to the area as in spring/summer we spend a weekend here every few weeks. Each time my partner and I pay a few visits to the Moorcock Inn for a few drinks as we enjoy the place so much. We always get a lovely warm welcome.
The atmosphere is warm, homely and traditional, if you like real fires and the country cottage feel you will love this little treasure.
The proprietors have added Tapas and takeaway to their menu and on sampling it I can recommend it, plenty to eat for my other half who eats large portions, but not lacking in quality.
There are always a few good real ales on and we always sample them (it'd be rude not to ;0) ).
We are currently preparing for our next trip as every time we leave, we leave part of us here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    29
    12
    5
    10
See reviews for
14
70
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just cannot pass this lovely country pub.Such a friendly welcome .We had warm scone with cream and jam a beaker of fresh coffee and all for £3.50.Fantastic value for money and such a lovely atmosphere.We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herculese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Went to see steam train coming through the valley and forgot to bring a drink .We set of for home about sixty miles away went for a walk along the river with our little dog.The Moorcock beckoned and my husband asked if we could bring the dog in ,of course said the landlady.What a fantastic welcome spent very liittle as my husband was driving so just soft drinks we were treat wonderfully a great welcome,relaxed warm clean and oooooo so cosy, we were well settled the people In were friendly and everyone had a chat, the landlady sat with us . If you want a taste of a country pub this is the one next time hope I get snowed in there. THANKYOU for the welcome.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herculese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

My wife and i stayed at this little gem of a place for the weekend after finding it by chance in august this year when camping nearby and quite frankly could return every weekend, fantastic food a great selection of ales and whisky's and a very pleasant atmosphere. the room was excellent clean and tidy and the full english breakfast filled me for the whole day. we can not thank the staff enough for making us feel so welcome and will return just as soon as we can.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We have just returned from The Moorcock and felt we must share our experiences with others in the hope they are tempted to visit too. We arrived on a last minute whim, we're offered a range of tables and served with efficency and a warm smile. We ordered game casserole of venison, pheasant and rabbit and roasted guinea fowl stuffed with black pudding and bacon. Both dishes were absolutely delicious and beautifully served. Service was very good, attentive and polite. Thank you - we stay in Apperset regularly and will now make The Moorcock a regular feature of our trips too!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heysham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My husband and I have just spent a wonderful weekend at the Moorcock Inn. A warm welcome, excellent food and accommodation and friendly service. We will be going back soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneP01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

It would seem august wasn't the best month for customer staff relations, I would like to be fair here, this is a nice place, good enough food but I tend to agree there seems to be a coolness towards the customer, on our visit in early august after a long drive to this remote part of Yorkshire, we felt like we were intruding, standing for a while at the end of the bar waiting to order while the staff seemed to chat amongst themselves, when we got served the food was fine. But the bill came back wrong 3 times, finally we settled on something that was probably right! We said we would drop back later for a drink but when we did it the pub was closed at 10pm. There seemed to be a few happy people inside but we were told the till was closed. This place has bundles of potential, they just need to pay a little more attention to their tourist customers and not make us feel like we are in the way.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cmyadvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedbergh
5.9 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
7.3 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Old School - Tebay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Dalesman Country Inn
The Dalesman Country Inn
#5 of 11 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
7.9 mi away
Howgills Guest House & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorcock Inn

Property: Moorcock Inn
Address: Garsdale Head, Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Sedbergh
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sedbergh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Moorcock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorcock Hotel Sedbergh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing