We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything about St Marks Stays is special; Jo...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of St Marks Stays

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Weeks-Bax...
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Everything about St Marks Stays is special; Jo and Damian are stars!”
Reviewed 21 May 2018 for a stay in September 2017

St Marks is something special! Jo and Damian have created a beautiful, comfortable and endlessly welcoming home-from-home in a stunning location... with views to die for, a lovely garden, walks from the back door, and easy access to Sedbergh (dog-friendly pub/eateries and shopping) and beyond! The whole house is thoughtfully and generously equipped with everything you could want - even a fabulously foodie store cupboard. We arrived to a personalised 'welcome' basket (including a little something for our dog) and a wealth of local information tailored to our particular interests. Can't believe our luck... will be back soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2018
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and very honoured that you found it so special. Looking forward to seeing you again in the future and getting a cuddle with Baxter again. Best wishes, Joanne & Damian x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
normanair...
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A gem of a place - a "boutique hotel" of the b&b world.”
Reviewed 17 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

This b&b is surrounded by beautiful countryside and lovely views from the bedrooms. It also has a lovely garden for sitting.
The upgraded bathrooms and decor are of a very high standard.
This b&b is ideal for groups and has a large activity room - ideal for yoga, painting or quilting or other activities.
The food was wonderful and creative. Our hosts were very obliging and charming. I would definitely return, in fact we had already booked for next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2018
We are already looking forward to your return visit Norma and are really pleased you like the decor. Best wishes, Joanne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nomad7744...
1 review
“Fantastic Welcome with Great Local Walks”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed on NewYears Eve and enjoyed a fantastic walk up the (very close by) famous Cautley Spout which is spectacuar. Jo and Damian were brilliant hosts and St Marks is a first class pace to stay. Could not recomend it enough

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
It was great to walk up the waterfall with you all. Thanks for reminding us of good times x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S
1 review
“St Marks Stays a 5 Star experience.”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Nestled in the beautiful Cumbrian hills near to Sedbergh, St Marks Stays is a unique experience. Places of interest abound in the area with plenty for the keen adventurer, photographer and artist to while away the hours and immerse themselves. The owners, Joanne and Damian, welcome you into their home and hearts, nothing is too much trouble ensuring your stay is comfortable and exceptional. Beautifully furnished throughout with curios in every corner St Marks is inspirational. I highly recommend a stay here and look forward to going back myself for a third year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2018
What a wonderful review to read and it makes our day and year to know you enjoy it so much. We look forward to you coming back and being creative with your sewing skills and camera. Best wishes until next year, Joanne & Damian x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nush P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning house in beautiful location”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Had an excellent stay for a yoga retreat at St Marks. The house is beautiful and serene with a studio which was perfect for yoga. Damian, Jo and Quito are wonderful hosts and made us all feel so welcome. Will definitely be going back when I can.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2018
Thanks so much Nush and we are so glad you enjoyed the studio. You know where we are when you fancy a change of scenery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
1 review
“Retreat”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We stayed for a yoga retreat run by the fabulous Sonia Parry but this venue was a retreat in itself so it was like double wamy.
The views, the house, lovely comfortable tastfully decorated room, the food, and most of all the welcoming and personable hosts, who made the place feel like home from home, all contributed to a wonderful weekend. The sunshine also helped of course.
I would definitely stay again and Re omens it to anyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2018
Sonia was fabulous wasn't she. A treasure for us to have her retreat here and we are so pleased you felt we added to it. Thanks so much for the review Sam.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jen H
2 reviews
“Beautiful and Welcoming”
Reviewed 13 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

St Marks Stay is an absolutely amazing place and I don't think I have ever felt so welcome. The hosts Jo and Damien couldn't do anymore for you during our stay. I went for a weekend of yoga and relaxation and I have got to say it's one of the best yoga retreats I have been on. Food, space and bedrooms were all first class. Thank you and i will definitely be back x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2018
What a wonderful comment to read knowing we helped make your yoga retreat fabulous. Already looking forward to having you walk back into our garden and hope it is just as sunny for you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing