We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic !”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of St Marks Stays

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PAUL H
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in August 2018

This house is amazing, beautiful views over the Howgills, lovely terrace on which we had a barbecue, large kitchen with aga , sprawling lawn for the 5 dogs we took with us. These are just some of the things we loved on our weekend away at St Marks. To be quite honest we could not find fault with the house , it's owners, or the area it is in. Beautiful walk into Sedbergh along the side of the Howgills and a totally relaxed atmosphere back at the house on return. A fine base for anybody who loves the surrounding countryside. Rooms were fantastic & we couldn't thank Damian & Jo enough for their wonderful hospitality.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2018
Thanks for your lovely comments Paul. We' re really glad you loved it here and that you had a great time at St Marks Stays - it was a pleasure having you all around. We hope to welcome you all back here again soon, when you can teach us some of your northern soul moves. Thanks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeelEaR
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful home away from home!”
Reviewed 26 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

A beautiful house in the Yorkshire dales with a warm, homely setting hosted wonderfully by Jo and Damien. A brilliant, well kitted garden allowed us to have barbecues and cricket sessions in the sun.
A fantastic weekend for myself and my friends. We would definitely recommend and definitely visit again!
Thanks Jo & Damien!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2018
We loved seeing how much you used the garden and it was a pleasure to have you guys stay. The lawn is always here for a rematch. Thanks for the fab comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1a1nC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely House, Lovely Hosts, Lovely views”
Reviewed 16 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Just a great place to stay, I was part of a large group and we had plenty of space, the rooms and facilities are excellent (two lounges, a big studio, lovely dining room easily seats 12, fantastic kitchen with Aga (there's a normal hob + oven too). The hosts are a lovely couple and could not do enough to help us. On the doorstep of the lake district and in a beautiful area in its own right. Can't fault it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
We are lucky to live in the location we do and so pleased you loved this also. Thanks for taking the time to tell others what you enjoyed about your stay and it always makes us happy to read such things.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelfes...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family stay”
Reviewed 10 June 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed in December with different generations of family members and friends and all had a lovely time. Beautiful rooms, spacious communal areas for socialising or relaxing. The internal decor and scenery outside are a feast for the eyes and it was nice to flick through the many inspirational books in the studio library. Damian and Joanne were very welcoming and knew a lot about things to do in the local area. Our highlight was climbing Cautley Spout waterfall - a challenging but manageable hike for us and our kids (age 8/10/12).

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2018
We are so pleased you enjoyed your winter stay and the kids did brilliantly didn't they. Thanks so much for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheekyfai...
under the toadstool
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a relaxing weekend to celebrate mum's special birthday & this is exactly what we got.

From the moment we walked through the door we felt at home, didn't feel awkward at all with Jo & Damian being around & felt like we were staying with friends rather than in a business.

The house is beautiful, rooms are spotless, bathrooms spacious with powerful shower & fluffy towels and the kitchen & lounge rooms have everything you need & more.

We were lucky to have amazing weather so we made the most of the gardens sitting out till late with the bbq & firepit.

We could have stayed all week it was lovely having little phone signal meaning we could leave the phones behind & just totally relax, think can honestly speak for us all when I say we all loved it & hope to be back next time we need to get away from it all.

Thanks once again Jo, Damian & Quito for making us most welcome in your beautiful part of the world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
How lovely that you felt like friends, because that is how we want our lifestyle to be - meeting lots of new friends. Loved chatting to you all and hey if you bring back that amazing weather every time you stay, we'll be booking you in all the time. Thanks for taking the time to tell us others reading this about your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris C
1 review
“Weekend Stay”
Reviewed 24 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Excellent hospitality, lovely house. Good location within the dales and easy to drive to the lakes. Would recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2018
Thanks so much for a great review and good to know that you found it easy to get to the Lakes.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tcoghlan
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful long weekend”
Reviewed 24 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Myself and 8 friends stayed with Damien and Joanne in mid-May for a weekend of hill walking and mountain biking. The house itself is beautiful and the screnry surrounding of the house like nothing else. They were wonderful hosts, happy to let us get on with our own cooking but we're also great to have around and chat. The house is also perfectly situated for hill walking and we got the good local tiles or where to walk. The walk up cautley spout on a sunny day is wonderful. A superb weekend and couldn't thank them enough for hosting us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2018
It was great to have you all here and we love it when people really get to enjoy the area. Welcome back anytime guys for another game of cricket.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing