We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food, friendly host and good service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cross Keys Temperance Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedbergh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Cross Keys Temperance Inn
Ranked #3 of 11 Sedbergh B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, friendly host and good service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We went for Sunday lunch which was luckily just after a bid rush of diners. The place is fantastically old and quaint. The food was superb...proper home style cooked food with large portions. The location is great with rolling hills and sheep straight out of the back windows of the dining room. Would recommend anyone to visit although the dining room has a small capacity. The owner and host, Alan was very friendly and chatty throughout.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martslister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Having been driving round the Yorkshire dales with friends we headed back via Sedbergh. We were hungry and the rain was lashing down. Then we saw the Cross Keys. There were no cars in the car park but we asked if they did food and the answer was YES! We sat in the old worldly sitting area warmed by a wonderful coal fire and looked at the menus. As the inn was Temperance there was a very varied soft drinks menu including many of the old fashioned soft drinks. The food was home cooked and just what was needed on a wet day. We sat in the conservatory end of the dining room and had a view of Cautley Spout waterfall from the window. the owners were very welcoming and to fall across such a gem of a place on a wet day was wonderful. The Gammon steak,as suggested in other reviews was huge served with 2 eggs and pineapple. We also sampled the steak and ale pie and bread and butter pudding and all went down very very well. Great place and well worth a visit.
Ed back via Sedbergh

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barngirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We took shelter in the Cross Keys on a very wet and windy day when the warms fires and hot tea and coffee were very welcome. Understand the Sunday lunch is very popular so we'll book next time we're in the area.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank writemerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

We had been to The Cross Keys on recommendation but only for tea. This time we stayed overnight and enjoyed a very good dinner, having remembered this is a temperance inn and brought our own wine. The location is quite remote in the less visited Howgill Fells to the east of the Lake District and the inn is beautifully located with a view of the Cautley Spout waterfall from the restaurant. There is a cosy 'parlour' with roaring fire and a library for guests to use between the 2 bedrooms. Alan and Chris made us very welcome and we had an excellent meal with carefully sourced local specialities making it extra special. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helston22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
309 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

The last time we came to the Cross Keys was before our trip adviser days and, if anything, it's now even better! We stayed over on a Saturday night so we could enjoy 2 days of walking in this wonderful part of the world. The welcome and the room are so warm and the food is simply delicious! We ate soup and crab fish cakes followed by pheasant and lamb and managed to squeeze in a crundle with cream to share for desert. To finish a perfect weekend, a wonderful breakfast is served in the conservatory area, looking out over to Cautley Spout itself whilst watching the birds come to the feeding area on the patio. Aaaah, wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalkwiththeDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,121 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Although, historically, a temperance inn, diners are welcome to take their own wine to accompany dinner and there is no corkage charge. The proprietors extends a warm, personal welcome to their guests and make you feel instantly at home. The food is wonderful. Locally reared lamb was outstanding and perfectly cooked. Dulverton tart, an indulgent, fruity pudding, was simply delicious and there was plenty of choice at every course. The inn is set just off the main road out of Sedbergh, yet the setting is tranquil and the views spectacular. Roaring, open fires complete the cosy atmosphere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Food was brilliant. BLT to die for. Walk to Cautley Spout first (only a mile) to give yourself an appetite and don't miss out on the Victorian Lemonade. You can see the spout from the dinning room anyway. Not to be missed

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyetoyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedbergh hotels
0.0 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Dalesman Country Inn
The Dalesman Country Inn
#5 of 11 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#1 of 11 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Moorcock Inn
Moorcock Inn
#4 of 11 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Howgills Guest House & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Summerhill B&B
Summerhill B&B
#6 of 11 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cross Keys Temperance Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cross Keys Temperance Inn

Property: The Cross Keys Temperance Inn
Address: Cautley Spout | Cautley, Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Sedbergh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sedbergh
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing