We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely traditional Cafe with lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Howgills Bakery and Tea Room - CLOSED

Howgills Bakery and Tea Room
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Description: I can't find a website for the cafe, but it is a very good place. used to be called Ellies.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely traditional Cafe with lovely staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Recently stayed at the Howgills Bunk Barn with friends when we decided to take a walk into the town centre for some lunch, when asked locals which Cafe they recommend - many said this one. As we approached the Cafe we saw that all the tables were full which reassured us that it must be a good Cafe. After a 10 minute wait outside a table became free and we took our seats. The menu was easy to read and also provided a enlarged version for my elderly mother. It had a variety of foods listed which was also helpful as she can be very picky. We all settled for the soup of the day which was served with a bread bun and home made tray bake afterwards - beautiful! There was no music playing in the Cafe which is unusual but much better - the atmosphere was peaceful and relaxing. The staff - 3 younger girls were very welcoming; smiling, friendly and very helpful which made our visit even more pleasurable! We will definitely return, thank you!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    2
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enniskillen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Most disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We visited this place for afternoon tea and after sitting for at least 15 minutes, a very sharp elderly lady told us we had to go to the counter to order. Given the fact that there were just 3 other people there, I thought that was a bit precious.

The food was adequate, nothing special but as it is a bakery I would have expected something much better.

I got out as soon as I could, said goodbye to the lady behind the till and was duly rewarded with silence.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diveforcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“very disapointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Visited here guided by the good reviews and was very disapointed! I ordered a bakewell tart and hot chocolate, the drink was small and lukewarm the tart was a major let down, the pastry base was overly greasy and the sponge top was stodgy.
Over priced with poor selection and quality of cake.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank christy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

This place must have changed hands recently as my experience was awful. I presumed i was getting fresh food but got an old pork pie wiv cold processed peas (not mushy) , no gravy until requested. when enquired staff were v rude. Nothin home baked or homely here!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2feral4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Old fashioned slow-food - brilliant !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This cafe is unspoilt by the insincerity of most modern purveyors of service: no glib, superfluous intimations to 'Enjoy !'. Instead, the simple, very tasty food - sourced from identifiable butchers - is delivered like a mum (but a tad slower) from the kitchen. It's a delight to relax in this nice stripped wood cafe. Character and the plaudits of the local shop-owners will ensure that this cafe will always be recommended to visitors as I was. Good luck Howgills Bakery !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RiodeJaneiroWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howgills Bakery and Tea Room also viewed

Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing