We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing”
Review of Howgills Bakery and Tea Room - CLOSED

Howgills Bakery and Tea Room
Description: I can't find a website for the cafe, but it is a very good place. used to be called Ellies.
Restaurant details
Description: I can't find a website for the cafe, but it is a very good place. used to be called Ellies.
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We ordered a coffee, a tea, a veggie burger and a lentil and bean pasty. Both dishes were served on a small plate and were snack rather than meal size. The veggie burger came with a few green leaves, half a radish and a quarter of a tomato. The pasty had been overheated and came with a spoonful of overcooked cheap baked beans and for this I was charged £5.75. When I queried this with the young waitress she shrugged and said it was expensive because they had to charge VAT on food eaten inside the café. I pointed out it was extremely poor value for what I had been given and again she just shrugged. Very polite but ineffectual. The coffee was tepid and bitter tasting and the food took ages to come. We should have took heed of the couple who were served before us & left their soup after just one mouthful saying it was inedible. One to avoid.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CLARA239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mr_Smallshaw, Manager at Howgills Bakery and Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Thank you for your feedback, were sorry to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us and can only apologise, the vegetarian burger is listed with the sandwiches and does state that the salad and coleslaw are served as a garnish. Perhaps we should look at our menus and make things clearer. I thinks it's only fair that I point out the lady who walked out did not say that it was inedible but in fact that the soup was too creamy for her liking, given the fact there was no cream in the soup and the lady had identified to staff she was in a rush it's fair to say it was not because the food was not edible. Our staff should have identified your concerns to a manager when you identified this at the time and perhaps this could have been resolved in store, so again we apologise for your experience and hope you will gives us a chance to redeem your custom in the future. Thanks again for your feedback, we will look to strengthen our delivery of customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (31)
There are newer reviews for Howgills Bakery and Tea Room
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2014

been here before and it has gone down hill the coffee was really bad service poor waited ages for the drinks to come had a scone and it was dry another member of the party had cake and that was dry also all in all has definitly gone down hill

Thank cheekymonkey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

visited this quaint tearoom again recently and what a difference. the staff were uninterested in the customers, service was slow and the coffee tasted disgusting as did the hot chocolate. over priced for very bad drinks

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cheekymonkey53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very friendly cafe and bakery. Worth a try just for the scones. Good selection of sandwiches and cakes to eat in or take out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank traceyandstuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

An overdue review from October 2010 - just passing through whilst on holiday in the area, a lovely little tea shop - very quaint and small. We enjoyed tea and lovely large homemade scones! Will return if ever in area again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NorthantsAquababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Howgills Bakery and Tea Room also viewed

Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing