We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb Accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

Front of Stable Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Stable Cottage
Front of property Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Front of Stable Cottage
Front of property
Kitchen area
Dining area
Living area
Bedroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GMcL69
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb Accommodation”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stable Cottage is the perfect place to stay in heart of beautiful Sedbergh. Just off the “Main” road in Sedbergh I’s perfectly located to take advantage of the local shops, cafés and bars. Well-appointed with fresh decor it was just what we need for the long weekend. The lack of a washing machine has been mentioned in previous reviews but this didn’t bother us – a freezer or freezer compartment would have been most welcome in the surprisingly hot weather.
Our host Pippa was very accommodating and I would certainly recommend and definitely use again.
Many Thanks,
G+C

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Central Location
Liked least: Lack of Freezer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabri3ll3
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Cottage, great people, great town :) :)”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage is great for two, we also took our little cat. Loads of amenities and pubs, also a Spar. Theres a walking track as well to follow with stunning views. Would definitely come back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: atmosphere
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen G
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cosy, comfortable and well situated”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Had a great week staying at Stable Cottage. The property is well placed for access to shops, cafes and pubs and is close to public transport links to Kendal and Kirkby Stephen. The house is well furnished and equipped with good central heating and plenty of space for two.
Downside is occasionally patchy mobile phone reception and no wifi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to community amenities
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tobyseraf...
St Cleer, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oh, what a lovely cottage!”
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My husband, my dog and I went for a weeks holiday to this little cottage this autumn and it was lovely! Well situated for a barrage of activities in both the yorkshire dales and the lake district Sedbergh is a lovely town! There are a few pubs and cafes, a chinese and a fish and chippy, alongside an excellent butchers, a great greengrocers, a bakery and a sweetie shop amongst the other little shops. In the cottage there was plenty of room for a comfy cosy holiday and the owner was helpful at every turn! We are quite foodie so we made use of the kitchen (we brought most of our own equipment as we needed certain tins/pans for our cooking!) and there was lots of room for making bread and cakes and stews etc! It was a great week! Lots of great places for dog walks nearby and although there is no garden taking him out for his business was no issue. Parking is literally around the corner and no issue there either! The only thing we would have liked is wi-fi as we were attempting to look up directions/activites on our iphones with no wi-fi or 3g! A bit of a pain!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 22 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location within the village/town and access to surrounding areas.
Liked least: Lack of clothes washing facilities
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing