We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

Front of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Front of property Kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
Front of property
Front of property
Kitchen area
Dining area
Living area
Bedroom
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne Mari...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very rude owner”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We had a nice weekend staying Friday and Saturday nights in this pleasant cottage. We left at 10 o'clock Sunday morning as agreed. I received an unpleasant phone call in the afternoon from the owner telling me that I had outstayed my welcome! Apparently, her cleaner had been unable to gain admittance to the cottage because we were still there! I was in my kitchen cooking Sunday lunch for the family at the time.
No apology from the owner - we will definitely not be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Hi Anne Marie, Thank you for your review, I am very sorry about this situation. The phone call came on our part due to a misunderstanding regarding your departure from the cottage.
In fact, you were booked for two nights from Thursday 20th and therefore due to leave on the Saturday morning. These dates are referred to in the communications through Holiday Lettings prior to your visit to the cottage.
Whilst normally we would of course try to accommodate a situation such as this and we understand that mistakes do happen, on this occasion it caused us difficulty as we had arranged to have some work done at the cottage starting from Saturday 22nd. For that reason the date was blocked out on our availability calendar prior to your booking. Our cleaning lady had also booked off time from Sunday 23rd for a family holiday and so had planned to clean the cottage on the Saturday after your departure. As I am sure you can understand, we were very surprised to be told by her that you were expecting to stay until Sunday.
Once again I am very sorry for the phone call. We thought that you had arrived Thursday 20th and had stayed an extra night beyond what was agreed. Additionally there was a miscommunication between myself and the owner caused by the delayed arrival of text messages which led to us believing that you were still in the cottage on Sunday afternoon, resulting in the phone call. I apologise for any distress caused.
Rachel – Property Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exclusive...
1 review
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed 10 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Awesome cottage.Very clean nice & tidy.Owner was so friendly & very helpful.Highly recommended.So so happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie P
1 review
“Great little cottage for two in very good location for exploring Dales”
Reviewed 1 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

An immaculately clean cottage, just right for a couple. Infinitely more preferable for relaxing than a hotel room. Good cafes for breakfast, lunch and a great pub for your evening meal in walking distance if you don't want to cook. A good location for exploring the top of the Dales and into the Lake District. Such good value price wise too

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisG_UK...
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage right in the centre of Sedbergh”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Spent a couple of nights here to visit friends in the area. Ideal for my purposes, the cottage was clean and bright with good facilities i.e fridge, microwave, small TV, nice bathroom and comfy bed. I was pleased to find a bottle of milk in the fridge as I arrived after the shops had closed! The only slight negative is that parking in Sedbergh is limited. There is a pay and display close by which is free overnight and the following morning I managed to find a free space on the road just around the corner which suited me. All day at the pay and display was £4:00 if I remember correctly.
Overall I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this little cottage with plenty of character right in the middle of the beautiful village with three pubs in easy walking distance!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Situation
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jak632016
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Compact cosy cottage”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Loved it is was small but ideal.the only thing was the Windows did not open for some fresh air it got quite stuffy at night and really need fresh air in the cottage if you cook,but all in all I would book again if could open one window

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bathroom was lovely
Liked least: Small settee was low and I struggled getting up.dining chairs could be more updated and comfy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JaneandIa...
Ashton-under-Lyne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Booked the stay for Howgills Trail Marathon and it suited us very well.
Cosy cottage, convenient for all of Sedbergh's eateries & shops, as well as the race start.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & comfort
Liked least: No Wifi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T33ADG
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Stable Cottage is a little gem. Well furnished and equipped and right in the heart of Sedburgh yet little or no disturbance from traffic or revellers. Parking can br problematic but otherwise first rate.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;