We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moorcock Inn

The Moorcock Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Sedbergh
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Home cooked English pub meals. One of very few where you can have proper sit down and warm & tasty meal. There are lots of comfortable chairs to choose from, too.
Yorkshhire Dales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Game stew i recomend here, good food and served with a smile! I did a walk to here and got the little white bus back to Hawes for pennies.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
393 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Great pub lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Great quaint cosy pub in the middle of nowhere.
Good lunch menu.
We just had hot baguettes with chips which were excellent and filling.
Reasonable prices for Dales.
Three acceptable real ales,including on brewed for the Moorcock.
Service was good and friendly but as we were the only customers you would expect that.
Beautiful area and plenty of walks around.
Well worth a visit, but I can imagine it gets very busy at peak times.
Good website with opening times, menu etc.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lowvalleyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“evening meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

very good food reasonably priced, nice real ale and good service. i had the specials of the day chilli prawns and sea bass on a potato and chorizo base very nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nedeljko_stoykovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Grub !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We booked in for tea as we were staying at the B&B next door. We had no problems reserving a table, the girls running the place were lovely and the food was to die for ! There was 2 adults and 3 kids and including a couple of beers, cokes and wine it came to about £60 - Unbelievable value for money. The portions were HUGE and just so delicious. I was gutted to not have room for a pudding !

Made to feel very welcome indeed despite having three children and it being a quiet country pub.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carole1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welcome at the end of a tiring day but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We were pleased to find this pub served food as we were staying at the wonderful B and B next door and were tired after our journey. Atmosphere was ok but the lamb chops weren't hot enough!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mattie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moorcock Inn also viewed

Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Moorcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing