We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of The Moorcock Inn

The Moorcock Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Sedbergh
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Home cooked English pub meals. One of very few where you can have proper sit down and warm & tasty meal. There are lots of comfortable chairs to choose from, too.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We booked a table for our daughter's significant birthday for 4 adults and 2 children at 7:30pm. We arrived on time and it took 20 minutes to get served at the bar and be given menus. We ordered at 7:55. Just past 8:00 the waitress returned the menu and said they had run out of one of the specials we had ordered. We took our replacement order to the bar just a few minutes later. At that point they said there would be 'a bit of a wait' of at least 20 minutes. At 8:30 we had no food ant two hungry kids, so made inquiries. The cook came out from the kitchen and informed us:

A. It wasn't her fault if everyone had booked at 7:30
B. she hadn't got our order till 8:10
C. We could leave if we wanted and that would quite please her

Why did they take so many bookings for 7:30? If they suggested we came earlier we would have. It wasn't our fault the restaurant ran out of a special. Why did we lose our place in the queue? The people next to us sat down after us and their dessert arrived at the same time as our starter.
Where else were we supposed to go at 8:30 on Saturday miles from the nearest town? Why didn't they bring out nibbles for the kids by way of apology?

No one actually said sorry, the entire evening. Apart from the haggis, goats cheese and black pudding stack, all the food was mediocre and under seasoned. Maybe it wasn't the cooks fault but she could have been polite. The management needs to get its act together on service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    29
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect pub”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

Cosy, welcoming, highly enjoyable experience. Lovely food and staff could not have been more helpful: boxing up children's uneaten sandwiches and letting us pore over their OS maps while we planned our afternoon walk. Orwell thought the perfect pub didn't exist except in our collective imaginations. I'd happily enjoy a pint with his ghost to prove him wrong!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angelika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Excellent Hosts”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We called into this rural pub for a drink. We were served by Cathryn who was cheerful and very knowledgeable about the ales being served and the local area. We decided to return for a meal and stayed in the Inn. The food was amazing and plentiful. The menu was extensive. We will definitely return to work our way through the menu. We visited August, they had the fire on as it was a chilly evening. It will be so cosy in the dark winter nights.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Little-ween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 381 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We vistied the Moorcroft inn while in the area for a meal at Dinnertime. Excellent food and would highly return in the future. Some lovely waterfalls in the area. Hellgill Force and Garsdale.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank thrahtobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedbergh
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Moussaka was just fabulous!”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have eaten here a few times and it is a very easy place to go back to! The beer is good and the food is excellent. There is plenty of it too - on several occasions I have had a starter and a main course and then struggled to finish - but done so because the food is so good!!
Last time I had the haggis, black pudding and goats cheese stack as a starter followed by the Moorcock Hotpot - wonderful and highly recommended. This time whitebait (plenty of it) ws followed by the best moussaka I have ever had. The aubergines were beautifully prepared, the lamb well seasoned and the sauce on top just brilliant!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Moorcock Inn also viewed

Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Moorcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing