We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dalesman Country Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Sedbergh B&B and Inns
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed here last weekend taking advantage of the 2 nights, one evening meal and one breakfast offer for £80. The room was stunning with everything that you could need. The food was delicious and although the complimentary meal menu was limited as I'm vegetarian they were able to accommodate me and offer an alternative. The staff were lovely, really helpful and the village itself and the locals were great. Would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Room one is supposed to be the best room, but we noticed it is also closest to the bar. We were in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    69
    25
    12
    17
See reviews for
28
72
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
220 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Arrived without a reservation. Lovely room (Room 4) although above our normal 70 pounds a night or so, but when we left we agreed that the money was well spent.
Friendly staff and a good evening meal.
One pleasant find were the suggested walks in the back of the room information book. A nice touch I though even though it was pouring with rain the morning we left so we were only able to take a brief walk.
All good

Room Tip: Room 4 is on the front but not noisy. Comfortable bed and a great ambiance as well as a bathtub and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruicad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawtenstall
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We ate here on the dales way and wanted to come back and stay. Lovely room (room 4) has to be seen to be believed (bit pricey mind). Fantastic big bed with feather and down pillows and quilt, luxurious but guess who is strongly allergic to eiderdown? Staff very helpful, well done Jenni, scouring the village for man made fibres. The bar was very busy but we had a table in the restaurant, service was slow but the food is all cooked to order. Well worth the wait and th beer is (as ever) sublime.

Room Tip: Room 4 has the deepest bath ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Spent a number of nights just having a few drinks in this pub, nice environment and good atmosphere.
Also had a meal that was a variable experiance, orders were taken quickly, I had the pizza which was superb and a good price, my husband had the crispy duck salad started which was a bit of a disapointment and very over priced, he followed with the burger which was very good. The slowness of service following the main meals was a bit of an issue and we were left waiting a long time, however the servicse staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Spent 2 nights in The Dalesman. Our room was very comfortable and large although our friends wasn't as spacious. Ate in the restaurant one evening with pleasant food. Pub was busy at times with a good selection of real ales. Would be an ideal base for walking in the Howgills or browsing the numerous bookshops in the town.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The Dalesman is lovely. It has a warm and welcoming atmosphere and is always packed with locals. The food is great but the portions are huge! No need for a starter or dessert! It is a little pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

Came here after campsite flooded. We were wet through but the place was superb. The suite room 2 is beautiful, the bed was massive, warm, and comfortable. Got fish n chips from down the road and washed them down with a bottle of ale. Attention to detail evident right down to the toiletries- lemon shower gel made about five doors down the road in Sedbergh. Breakfast was a delicious fry-up.

If you need a taxi in the area, use On Time Taxis. Top bloke. 015396 21782.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LeSanglierCruzVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedbergh
0.7 mi away
Thorns Hall
Thorns Hall
#1 of 1 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
13.8 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Head at Middleton
The Head at Middleton
#1 of 1 in Middleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Garsdale
The Garsdale
#2 of 11 in Sedbergh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howgills Guest House & Apartments
8.0 mi away
Moorcock Inn
Moorcock Inn
#3 of 11 in Sedbergh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dalesman Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dalesman Country Inn

Property: The Dalesman Country Inn
Address: Main Street, Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA10 5BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Sedbergh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Sedbergh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dalesman Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Dalesman Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing