We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never open” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sedbergh Cafe

The Sedbergh Cafe
Ranked #11 of 16 Restaurants in Sedbergh
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating
Description: Award winning Tea Rooms located in the picturesque market town of Sedbergh, also England’s official Book Town (England’s equivalent of Hay-on-Wye), located in the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Park, only a few miles from the M6 motorway at Junction 37.We pride ourselves on our afternoon tea and in serving good, healthy home made cakes and food, baked and cooked in-house. We always bake our scones fresh at the tea room daily.The Sedbergh Café seats 58 people, welcomes cyclists, walkers, coach parties and is fully licensed. Free wireless Internet access is also provided, along with full disabled facilities.
Sedbergh
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Never open”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This tea room looks lovely, but it is hardly ever open - just sometimes at weekends. It's such a pity as it is probably the best view in Sedbergh, overlooking St Andrew's Church and down Finkle Street. It does absolutely nothing for Sedbergh to have a café in such a prominent position that is almost always closed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasant cafe serving good tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I had a pot of tea and some gluten-free lemon drizzle cake. The tea was excellent, the cake was good. The staff are friendly, the cafe is pleasant if a little on the warm side, and the location is very nice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HBunyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best in Sedbergh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Really good food great choice-cheerful staff I really recommend this cafe, it is well used by locals so that speaks for itself....

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilf971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Scone heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just had the best scone probably I have every had in a cafe. Service excellent and a relaxed atmosphere . Definitely would be my first choice of a tea room in Sedbergh

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackspur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi in London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“IMAGINATIVE AND WHOLESOME FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

On a dismal day a friend and I chanced upon this cafe, having originally decided to have a pub lunch! We glanced at the menu on our way to the pub and were ''hooked'' but the choice, particularly since I am a vegetarian and several of the options were non-meat and sounded interesting. The welcome was warm, service friendly and the meals lived up to their descriptions. If I should ever be in that locality another time, I would certainly return to this cafe. On leaving I bought a freshly baked scone to enjoy on the train on my way back to London. All in all a most pleasant experience,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerigenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sedbergh Cafe also viewed

Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Sedbergh Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing