We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #8 of 18 Restaurants in Sedbergh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lincoln
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very friendly”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We ate here a few times while we staying in Cumbria,and the meals were always very good. There were 4 of us all eating something different,but every time it was excellent. We also had
a good laugh with the staff.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank HiltoniaLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    45
    9
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother if you've got a dog”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Supposed to be dog friendly but that meant we were sent straight out to the dismal back yard with an old TV on full blast and sitting amongst the smokers to eat our very basic meal. Sorry but expected much better from the previous reviews. Compared to most pubs we have visited in the a dales this was the worst by miles.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheilaHKent_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Pub in Sedbergh”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I stayed in a cottage in Sedbergh and went to the Red Lion in the village. We ate 4 times there and each time the meals were superb and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. The Red Lion is also spotlessly clean. When we return to Sedbergh we will definitely go back to the Red Lion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SwindonLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inverness
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“plesant”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

great bar staff good selection of drinks good bar lunch at low cost and tasty cosy comfy.relaxing service was quick had good conversation with some locals thay were very happy to part with info. on local area

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rustynail10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited the Red Lion while staying in Sedbergh. Good selection of beers and ales and very helpful staff. Took part in the Thursday night quiz which was amicably competitive.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing