We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Another world”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 'Jazzcats'

JazzCats living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
JazzCats living room
JazzCats original fireplace compliments central heating Dedicated off road parking space.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
7 reviews
JazzCats living room
JazzCats original fireplace compliments central heating
Dedicated off road parking space.
JazzCats is the red house in the beautiful hamlet of Millthrop.
JazzCats is the red house in the beautiful hamlet of Millthrop.
JazzCats living room
JazzCats modern open-plan kitchen with washer/dyer machine, fridge freezer, microwave etc...,
JazzCats bright and airy main double bedroom.
JazzCats main bedroom with original fireplace
JazzCats bathroom
JazzCats attic bedroom with single bed and library.
View over garden wall
JazzCats has a large selection of books both classic and modern, fiction also non-fiction.
JazzCats patio garden backs onto a green field of sheep.
Have fun at the nearby river.
Have fun at the nearby river.
Scenic landscapes are all around.
Scenic landscapes are all around.
Scenic landscapes are all around, hike the fells and the many trails.
JazzCats heritage collection.
Sedbergh main street.
Beautiful views
Beautiful views
Nearby places of interest.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Sedbergh, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CBandMG
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Another world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Stayed here about 6 times now and it never fails to impress! It is so nice to get away from the ratrace and relax in such peaceful surroundings.We will definitely be back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRI1234
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Slight problem but so well taken care of!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked to stay for a wedding up in Sedbergh for the weekend and Gulliver arranged the booking for us. They were flexible on minimum stays also which made it a good choice. The booking process was good and we were forwarded the details once we'd confirmed the reservation.
On the day of arrival we were contacted to say that there had been a problem with the cottage, the boiler had broken down, but that to let them know when we'd be arriving as an alternative had been sought.
On arrival we were met by the charming Medeleine and an alternative cottage had been sought for us a few doors down last minute, this wasn't so good compared with what Jazzcats had to offer from the website but better certainly than nothing and we really appreciated the efforts made to sort this!!
I totally trusted the owners and they did a great job as rental cottage owners.
We will definitely be re-booking as the area was gorgeous and dinner in the Red Lion was brilliant and we'd love to try the jazzcats cottage for real next time!!!
These were good trustworthy guys and for a long weekend give Sedburgh and Jazzcats a try!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: There was a problem and they sorted it without fuss.
Liked least: Houses are houses and things will breakdown-they delt with this problem brilliantly.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard H
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy with character”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Jazz Cats is cosy, comfortable and has everything you will need and more, It is small but had everything we required for a week's stay. Everywhere you look is something of interest: the books, pictures, music (Mary Coughlin left in the cd player!), the original fireplace, the bath (!) and even the structure of the wooden stairs. The hamlet was picturesque and full of flowers. Evenings were spent sat outside on the bench watching swallows and the sunset over the meadow, beautiful, Late evening? Choice of three pubs, short walk away in Sedbuergh itself. Easliy reached visits? West to the Lakes, East to Wensleydale. Recommended? Drive to railway and train over Dentdale and Ribblesdale (the famous viaduct) to Settle.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The character, combination of original features and tasteful alterations.
Liked least: I wish that I had met the original Jazz Cat!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jagpal P
Manchester
1 review
“Beautiful cosy cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

What a charming place! Great to relax with the open fire, the owner Gulliver is very friendly and helpful. The cottage is in a good location, had a fantastic time!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Open fire
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CBandMG
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Booked "Jazzcats" with very short notice. It is easy to find and everything is as it is on the website. We enjoyed the peace and quiet and the rural location. It is a pleasurable walk in to Sedbergh either by road or along the riverbank and takes about 20 minutes at a leisurely pace. The cottage is equipped to a high standard and everything we needed was available. There are numerous books on a wide range of subjects but we would have needed to stay for a year to read everything that interested us. That's one of the many reasons we will be returning!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cupcake19...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, full of character... perfect romantic break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at "Jazz cats" the first week of July for 3 nights with my boyfriend - this was a last minute idea and we contacted Gulliver the owner of the cottage one week before we were due to stay - he replied to my emails promptly & I paid for the cottage over pay pal to his wife.

Driving from the M6 this is very easy to find and there is no way of you getting it wrong! When we entered the cottage it was exactly how it had been sold on the website – the pictures were exact and simply what you see is what you get. There were many books and records that were Gulliver’s late Grandfather and grandmothers these made the cottage feel even more special.

The log fire was a centre point and when lit it was a perfect haven. The cottage was clean and although I had brought with me a few kitchen utensils there was no need for anything extra other than our clothes, food and bedding. I have to mention the cooking facilities were brilliant.

There was an option to use the cottages towels & bedding however we were happy to take our own with us.

If you are looking for a cottage within easy reach of the bustling towns of Kendal, Windermere & Grasmere then this is a perfect place to stay, as you are far enough away from the tourist parts however close enough if that is where you want to visit.

We are looking to plan our next visit for winter so we can make use of the log fire more!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The roll top bath
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$96
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing