We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howgills Barn
Nearby Hotels
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Snooty Fox(Kirkby Lonsdale)
US$182
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$133
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Thorns Hall(Sedbergh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Kendal)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whoop Hall(Kirkby Lonsdale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
128
7
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
7
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tublarge groupfield tripexcellent facilitiesbunk bedsstunning locationdrying roomplenty of spacenice staytable tennis tablebirthday partyshort walk from the townsummer monthsgreat groupsky tvsocial spacecommon room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stopped here in June 2014 after stopping here on a previous bike ride in 2013. Brilliant spot for groups of friends. Great facilities with superb views! Owner is a really nice guy and very helpful. He even cut the grass in the field to let the boys have a friendly kick around! Highly recommend this place and would definitely stop here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howgills B, Owner at Howgills Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Glad you all enjoyed it and will welcome your return to our Bunk Barn at Sedbergh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Howgills Bunk Barn was a great place for our varied bunch of 20-25 ( I think ) individuals! The rooms are clean and functional ( there for sleeping in yeah!) the open lounging/dining area was comfortable and even the upstairs TV room accommodated us, if a little snugly! The place is bigger than it looks and we didn't feel like we were tripping over each other. The outside seating area was great and well used!
The owner couldn't do enough for us, cutting the grass even shorter , in his own field, so we could have a keenly contested game of football, goals provided as well! There's BBQ equipment there ! Plenty of fridge and freezer space too.
There's Wi-fi if you really want that sort of thing, a washing/drying room and two great kitchen areas!
The village is close enough and has most things you'd need if necessary.
I thought, personally, it was a great venue with great views and I'm already looking forward to our next meeting there.

On a serious note:
We respected his property, not bad for 20 or so lads, and mucked in to keep the place clean! ( do the same people, do the same!)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spartacus053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howgills B, Owner at Howgills Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Yes, most of the time (really the majority of the time) we find that if we provide a great place that we would like to stay at, then our visitors respect that and we both end up happy. So yes, I really appreciate the fact that you lads left the place in great condition. It is a place where you can chill or party right through the night (as you did) but in the end you were good enough in return to leave it tidy. Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just returned from a trip to the bunk barn. An all male group of 24 stayed for 3 nights and a fantastic time was had by all. The accomodation has everything we could have needed, sky Tv, Wifi, dishwasher, BBQ, washing room and even a small football pitch that the owner Nigel very kindly cut for us before our big game!
Would recommend to all and we will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howgills B, Owner at Howgills Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you very much. It was a pleasure to host your group and we appreciate your considered thoughts on what we offer in this great place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

It was such a lovely place , both the area and the bunk it's self ! Inside was really nice, all the rooms were clean and nicely decorated and then outside , it was quiet and immersed in the countryside yet it was only a short walk from the town. It was fab , I would definitely recommend it !!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howgills B, Owner at Howgills Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We are very fortunate in Howgills Bunk Barn having one of the most beautiful locations in the area to appreciate the Howgills Fells and countryside around us in the Yorkshire Dales National Park and yet be only a short drive away from one of the Country's biggest attractions in the Lake District National Park. Not only that, but to be located in such an idyllic place and yet be a short walk to some good country pubs and eateries as our Fish and Chips and Indian restaurants and take aways must take some beating. It means we work hard with our Hospitality so we don't reduce the experience. Thank you. It's good to know we are doing well in your eyes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The layout giving all bedrooms an ensuite was absolutely amazing. The kitchen facilities were fabulous, and given the added kitchen downstairs, we couldn't have needed anything else even with the 33 of us there.

I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howgills B, Manager at Howgills Barn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Not quite sure how many were in this group as I've seen various estimates from 25 − 33 but hey ho, that's a good thing that everyone was there with plenty of space and enjoyed the time together. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews